|
Nouns
editor(s) -- ed. or eds
Revised Edition -- rev. ed.
compiler(s) -- comp. or comps.
translator(s) --trans. (for both singular and plural)
no date -- n.d.
|
Verbs
edited by ( in bibliography) / ed. (in notes)
compiled by ( in bibliography) /comp. (in note)
translated by (in bibliography) / trans. (in note)
|
When editor(s), compiler(s) or translator(s) is in place of author
♦ 1. Alicia Knight, ed., Enhanced Oil Recovery: Methods, Economic Benefits and Impacts on the Environment
(New York: Nova Publishers, 2015), 34. (note)
Knight, Alicia, ed. Enhanced Oil Recovery: Methods, Economic Benefits and Impacts on the Environment.
New York: Nova Publishers, 2015. (bibliography)
♦ 1. Albert Fried, comp., Socialism in America: From the Shakers to the Third International:
A Documentary History (Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1970), 34. (note)
Fried, Albert, comp. Socialism in America: From the Shakers to the Third International:
A Documentary History. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1970. bibliography)
♦ 11. Theodore Silverstein, trans., Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (Chicago: University of
Chicago Press, 1974), 34. (note)
Silverstein, Theodore, trans. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight. Chicago: University of
Chicago Press, 1974. (bibliography)
When both author and editor(s), compiler(s) or translator(s) are listed
♦ 1. Gabriel García Márquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude, trans. Gregory Rabassa. Oprah's Book
Club (New York ; Evanston: Harper & Row, Publishers, 1970). (note)
García Márquez, Gabriel. One Hundred Years of Solitude. Translated by Gregory Rabassa. Oprah's Book
Club. New York ; Evanston: Harper & Row, Publishers, 1970. ( bibliography)
Chapter in an edited book / Contribution to a multiauthor book
Start with the chapter author, followed by the chapter title in quotation marks. Put "in" before the book title. As mentioned at the top, verbs "edited by" and "translated by" are spelled out in a bibliography (in a note, though, they are abbreviated).
♦ 1. Gould, "Streisand as Schwarzkopt," 309. (Shortened Citation in a Note)
1. Glenn Gould, "Streisand as Schwarzkopt," in The Glenn Gould Reader, ed. Tim Page
(New York: Vintage, 1984), 310. (Note)
Gould, Glenn. "Streisand as Schwarzkopt." In The Glenn Gould Readder, edited by Tim page, 308-11.
New York: Vintage, 1984. (Bibliography
♦ 1. John Samples, "The Origins of Modern Campaign Finance Law," chap. 7 in The Fallacy of Campaign Finance Reform (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2006). (Note)
Samples, John. "The Origins of Modern Campaign Finance Law." Chap. 7 in The Fallacy of Campaign Finance Reform.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2006. (Bibliography)
Books with edition number (abbreviated as "ed." /"rev. ed." for Revised Edition )
♦ 1. The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2017), 806. (Note)
The Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2017. (Bibliography)
♦ 1. Simon Palfrey, Doing Shakespeare, rev. ed., Arden Shakespeare (London: Arden
Shakespeare: Methuen Drama, 2011), 45. ( Note)
Palfrey, Simon. Doing Shakespeare. Rev. ed. Arden Shakespeare. London: Arden
Shakespeare: Methuen Drama, 2011. ( Bibliography)
Books with volume number
♦ 3. Toyin Falola and Daniel Jean-Jacques, eds., Africa: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society, 3 vols. (Santa
Barbara, California: ABC-CLIO, 2016). ( Note)
Falola, Toyin, and Daniel Jean-Jacques, eds. Africa: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society. 3 vols. Santa
Barbara, California: ABC-CLIO, 2016. (Bibliography)
Entries in dictionaries and encyclopedias
--- References to an alphabetically arranged work cite the item (not the volume or page number) preceded by s.v. (sub verbo, "under the word"; pl. s.vv.)
♦ 1. Encyclopedia Britannica, 15th ed. (1980), s.v. "salvation." (note)
2. Dictionary of Literary Biography, s.v. "Jane Goodwin Austin," accessed June 2, 2020, Gale Literature online. ( Note)
♦ 5. Toyin Falola and Daniel Jean-Jacques, eds. Africa: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society,
(Santa Barbara, California: ABC-CLIO, 2016), s.v. "Congo." ( Note)
Falola,Toyin, and Daniel Jean-Jacques, eds. Africa: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society,
Santa Barbara, California: ABC-CLIO, 2016. s.v. "Congo." (Bibliography)
--- To cite an entry by author
♦ Middleton, Richard. "Lennon, John Ono (1940-1980)." In Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. Oxford
University Press, 2004. (Bibliography)
