Research Guides: Chicago Manual of Style -- Notes and Bibliography: Articles in periodicals

Articles -- Notes and Bibliography system

This section covers articles in scholarly and professional journals, popular magazines, and newspapers.

As mentioned in the basic structure, elements are separated by commas in a note and by periods in bibliography. For works with multiple authors, only the first author's name is inverted in bibliography. If the source has no author(s), check "Sources with no author/title" on the left column.

For notes:

Number. Author(s), "Article Title," Journal Title Volume number, Issue number (date): page number.

1. Benjamin Bagley, "Loving Someone in particular," Ethics 125, no. 2 (January 2015): 484-85.

For bibliography

Bibliography
Author. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume
number, Issue number (Date): page number.

Bibliography
Bagley, Benjamin. "Loving Someone in Particular."
Ethics 25, no.2 (January 2015): 477-507.

Journal articles

--- with volume and issue number (The volume number follows the italicized journal title with no punctuation)

♦ 1. Hope A. Olson, "Codes, Costs, and Critiques: The organization of Information in Library Quarterly, 1931-2004," Library Quarterly 76, no. 1 (2006): 20, doi: 10.1086/504343. ( Note)

Olson, Hope A. "Codes, Costs, and Critiques: The Organization of Information in Library QUarterly, 1931-2004."
Library Quarterly 76, no. 1 (2006): 19-35. doi: 10.1086/504343. (Bibliography)

--- with volume, issue and month in date

♦ 2. C. Daniel Batson, "How Social Is the Animal? The Human Capacity for Caring," American Psychologist 45, no. 3 (March 1990): 336. ( Note)

Batson, C. Daniel. “How Social an Animal? The Human Capacity for Caring.” American
Psychologist 45, no. 3 (March 1990): 336–46. (Bibliography)

--- with volume number and season

♦ 1. Boyan Jovanovic and Peter L. Rousseau, "Specifc Capital and Technological
Variety," Journal of Human Capital 2 (Summer 2008): 135, doi: 10.1086/590066. (Full Citation in a Note)

Jovanovic, Boyan, and Peter L. Rousseau. "Specific Capital and Technological Variety."
Journal of Human Capital 2 (Summer 2008):129-52. doi:10.1086/590066. (Bibliography)

--- with issue number only or date only ( a comma follows the journal title.)

♦ Beattie, J.M. "The Pattern of Crime in England, 1660-1800." Past and Present, no. 62 (1974): 47-95. (Bibliography)

♦ Saberhagen, Kelvin. “Lake Superior Beluga?” Sturgeon Review, Winter 1928: 21-45. (Bibliography)

--- Forthcoming journal articles (put "forthcoming" in place of the year and page numbers)

♦ 1. John Smith, "This Is an Article," Journal Title (forthcoming). (Note)

Smith, John. "This Is an Article." Journal Title (forthcoming). (Bibliography)

--- Articles accessed online (with DOI / URL)

♦ 1. Hope A. Olson, "Codes, Costs, and Critiques: The organiztion of Information in Library Quarterly,
1931-2004," Library Quarterly 76, no. 1 (2006): 20, doi: 10.1086/504343. (Note)

Olson, Hope A. "Codes, Costs, and Critiques: The Organization of Information in Library Quarterly, 1931-2004."
Library Quarterly 76, no. 1 (2006): 19-35. doi: 10.1086/504343. (Bibliography

--- journal special issues /supplement (which may have an editor and a title of its own)

♦ Dahlgren, Peter. "Public Intellectuals, Online Media, and Public Spheres: Current Realignments." International
Journal of Politics, Culture, and Society 25, no. 4 (2012): 95-110. (Bibliography -- may be cited as any other
journal )

   Dahlgren, Peter. "Public Intellectuals, Online Media, and Public Spheres: Current Realignments." In "On
            Public Intellectuals," edited by Patrick Baert. Special issue, International Journal of Politics, Culture, and
            Society 25, no. 4 (2012). (Bibliography -- may include the special issue)

♦ Smith, John. "Article Title." In "Supplement Title," edited by Mary Johnson. Supplement, Journal Title

22, no. S1 (2020): S10-25.

♦ (To cite the whole issue)
Baert, Patrick, ed. "On Public Intellectuals." Special issue, International Journal of Politics, Culture, and
Society 25, no. 4 (2012).

Magazines

Magazines are usually cited by date only, even if numbered by volume and issue. Different from journals above, the date is not enclosed in parentheses. Inclusive page numbers of an article may be omitted.

♦ 1. Zamira Loebis, “Hope and Hard Times,” Life, May 2000, 23. (Note)

Loebis, Zamira. “Hope and Hard Times.” Life, May 2000: 23. (Bibliography)

♦ "One Nation, Under Covid." The Economist, Jun 06, 2020, 17-18. (Bibliography)

Newspapers

Citations may include "final edition," "Midwest edition," etc. and section number such as sec. 1 or section title. A city name, if not part of the title of a local newspaper, should be added. The name of the state may be added in parentheses if needed.

♦ 1. Kristin Lam, "Turlock Widow Sues Safeway for Husband's COVID-19 Death.," Sacramento Bee, The (CA),
June 5, 2020: 3B. (note)

Lam, Kristin. "Turlock Widow Sues Safeway for Husband's COVID-19 Death." Sacramento Bee, The (CA), June 5,
2020: 3B. (Bibliography)

♦ 1. "Australia's Brutal Treatment of Migrants," editorial, New York Times, Sep 3, 2015, Late Edition. (note)

New York Times. "Australia's Brutal Treatment of Migrants." Editorial. Sep 3, 2015. Late Edition. (Bibliography)

♦ 1. Mujib Mashal, "Naming the Dead, Even as the Audience Slowly Dwindles," New York Times, Jun 09, 2020,
International. (note)

Mashal, Mujib. "Naming the Dead, Even as the Audience Slowly Dwindles." New York Times, Jun 09, 2020,
International.

Online newspapers

  ♦         1. Carmen Heredia Rodriguez, "For EMTs, There's No 'Rule Book' for Facing a Pandemic and Protests at
     Once," Los Angeles Times, June 9, 2020, https://www.latimes.com/science/story/2020-06-09/risks-for-emts-
     facing- coronavirus-and-protests. (note)

   Rodriguez, Carmen Heredia. "For EMTs, There's No 'Rule Book' for Facing a Pandemic and Protests at
               Once." Los Angeles Times, June 9, 2020. https://www.latimes.com/science/story/2020-06-09/risks-for-emts-
               facing-coronavirus-and-protests. (Bibliography)

Last Updated: Sep 25, 2020 10:15 AM