As mentioned in the basic structure, elements are separated by commas in a note and by periods in bibliography. In bibliography for works with multiple authors, only the first author's name is inverted. If the source has no author(s), check "Sources with no author/title" on the left column.
Note
|
Number. Author(s), Book Title (Location: Publisher, Year), page number.
|
1. Cheryl Strayed, Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail (New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2012), 87-88.N |
Bibliography
|
Bibliography
Author. Book Title. Location: Publisher's Name, publication year.
|
Bibliography
Strayed, Cheryl. Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific
Crest Trail. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2012.
|
Note that these nouns -- "editor", "translator", "volume" and "edition", are abbreviated -- "ed. or eds.", "trans.", "vol.", and "ed." But verbs "edited by" and "translated by" are spelled out in a bibliography (in a note, though, they are abbreviated).
One author / editor
♦ 1. Wendy Doniger, Splitting the Difference: Gender and Myth in Ancient Greece and India
(Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1999), 23. ( Note)
Doniger, Wendy. Splitting the Difference: Gender and Myth in Ancient Greece and India. Chicago: University of
Chicago Press, 1999. (Bibliography)
♦ 1. Edward E. Curtis, ed., The Columbia sourcebook of Muslims in the United States (New York: Columbia University Press, 2008), 34. (Note)
Curtis, Edward E., ed. The Columbia sourcebook of Muslims in the United States. New York: Columbia
University Press, 2008. (Bibliography)
Two or three authors
♦ 1. Sue-Ellen Jacobs, Wesley Thomas, and Sabine Lang, eds., Two-Spirit People: Native American
Gender Identity, Sexuality, and Spirituality (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1997), 32. ( note)
Jacobs, Sue-Ellen, Wesley Thomas, and Sabine Lang, eds. Two-Spirit People: Native American Gender Identity,
Sexuality, and Spirituality. Urbana:University of Illinois Press, 1997.
( Bibliography. Only the first author's name is inverted.)
Four to ten authors
For works by or edited by four to ten authors, all names are usually given in the bibliography. Word order and punctuation are the same as for two or three authors. In a note, only the name of the first author is included, followed by 'et al' with no intervening comma.
♦ 4. Jeri A. Sechzer et al., eds.,Women and Mental Health (Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1996). 243. ( Note)
Chapter in an edited book
Start with the chapter author, followed by the chapter title in quotation marks. Put "in" before the book title. As mentioned at the top, verbs "edited by" and "translated by" are spelled out in a bibliography (in a note, though, they are abbreviated).
♦ 1. Glenn Gould, "Streisand as Schwarzkopt," in The Glenn Gould Reader, ed. Tim Page
(New York: Vintage, 1984), 310. (Note)
Gould, Glenn. "Streisand as Schwarzkopt." In The Glenn Gould Readder, edited by Tim page, 308-11.
New York: Vintage, 1984. ( Bibliography)
Institutional or corporate authors / other names in the author's place
♦ 1. California State University, Sacramento, Journals of Dissent and Social Change: A Bibliography of Titles in
the California State University, Sacramento, Library (Sacramento: The Library, 1975), 11. (Note)
California State University, Sacramento. Journals of Dissent and Social Change: A Bibliography of Titles in the
California State University, Sacramento, Library. Sacramento: The Library, 1975. ( Bibliography)
Books with edition number (abbreviated as "ed." /"rev. ed." for Revised Edition )
♦ 1. Christopher Kendris and Theodore Kendris, 501 Spanish Verbs: Fully Conjugated in All the Tenses in a
New, Easy- to-Learn Format, Alphabetically Arranged, 7th ed. (Hauppauge, NY: Barron's Educational Series,
2010),44. (Note)
Kendris, Christopher, and Theodore Kendris. 501 Spanish Verbs: Fully Conjugated in All the Tenses in a New, Easy-
to-Learn Format, Alphabetically Arranged. 7th ed. Hauppauge, N.Y.: Barron's Educational Series, 2010.
(Bibliography)
Books with author plus editor or translator
In this case, "ed." or "trans." in the note becomes "Edited by" or "Translated by" in the bibliography.
♦ 1. Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Love in the Time of Cholera, trans. Edith Grossman (London: Cape, 1988), 242-55.
( Note)
Garcia Marquez, Gabriel. Love in the Time of Cholera. Translated by Edith Grossman. London: Cape, 1988.
(Bibliography)
Electronic books ( such formats as EPUB, PDF, HTML, Apps, CD-ROM, etc.)
(Bibliography)
Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2007. Kindle.
Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2008. PDF e-book.
Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2008. Microsoft Reader e-book.
(Note)
1. Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice ( New York: Penguin Classics, 2008), chap. 23,
Microsoft Reader e-book.
2. Adam Begley, Updike (New York: Harper, 2014), chap. 2, iBooks.
♦ For books from library database subscriptions
Weimann, Joachim, Ronnie Schöb, and Andreas Knabe. Measuring Happiness : The Economics of Well-Being.
Cambridge, Massachusetts: The MIT Press, 2015. EBSCOhost. (Bibliography)
♦ An example for books online
1. Mark Evan Bonds, Absolute Music: The History of an Idea (New York: Oxford University Press, 2014),
chap. 3, https://doi.org/.... ( the URL for the chapter in Note)
Bonds, Mark Evan. Absolute Music: The History of an Idea. New York: Oxford University Press, 2014.
https://doi.org/.... ( the URL for the whole book in Bibliography)
