This is the "Home" page of the "Chicago Manual of Style" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chicago Manual of Style  

Last Updated: Dec 2, 2013 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/chicagostyle Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

   Chicago Manual of Style (Call No. Z 253 .C57 2010 ) is available at the dictionary stand on each floor of the library. This guide is on how to cite sources, mainly books, articles and online resources. It gives a brief introduction to the basic forms of two systems (see the middle boxes):

(1) notes (footnotes/endnotes) and 
     bibliography
(2) author-date references
     (parenthetical text citation) and
      reference lists

Click the tabs above for more examples.

 

What is a Format or Style?

     A format or style manual is a set of rules to be applied to a research paper or professional article in a discipline.
     These rules determine the format: whether footnotes/endnotes or in text citations are used; whether a bibliography or reference list is used; what information is included and in what order, and how the overall paper appears in terms of margins, title pages, subheadings, etc.
 
 

Notes and Bibliography System

• Notes: Footnotes/Endnotes

• Bibliography

Notes – Where do they go?

•May be placed at the bottom of the page to which the note applies --- Footnotes
•Or may be placed at the end of the text.  Use a separate sheet titled “Notes” and list notes in numerical order corresponding to superscripted notes  in text --- Endnotes
Notes – What is their structure ?
•If there is a bibliography that includes all works cited in the notes, a shortened citation is recommended to avoid duplication. 
•If there is no bibliography or only a selected list, then notes must be in the full citation format.
Bibliography -- elements of the entry
•Author(s); title; editor, compiler or translator; edition; volume; series title; facts of publication; pages; DOI or URL
•If you are not sure, use library catalog or WorldCat to help you identify the elements for books; for journal articles, use databses.
 

Author-date reference system

• Text Citations 

• Reference Lists 

    Sources are cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by the author's last name, the publication date of the work cited, and a page number if needed. Click on Parenthetical citation for examples.

    Full details appear in the reference list---usually titled "References" or "Works cited"---in which the year of publication appears immediately after the author's name ( Chicago Manual of Style, page 787).

Contact Librarian

Profile Image
Hong Wang
Contact Info
Library Room 2014
2000 State University Drive East
Sacramento, CA 95819

Phone: 916-278-6373
Send Email
 

PowerPoint Presentation

This powerpoint was created by Tamara Trujillo and Hong Wang

 

16th Edition

chicago style manual


    California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip