EndNote @CSUS News
- Endnote X6 is here [3/8/13] and downloadable from the campus for both MAC and Windows [not Windows 8]. New features include: direct export from PubMed; change case in fields; new layout of references window; and new ratings and read/unread status.
- EndNote X5 is here [12/3/2012] and downloadable from the campus for both MAC and Windows. There are some minor differences between X4 and X5.
- EndNote X4 is now available for download from the campus for both MAC and Windows.
- Update 4.0.2 is available for Windows and Mac users and includes a number of improvements. Note: You must have a licensed copy of EndNote X4.0 or EndNote X4.0.1 for Windows installed to run the X4.0.2 update. It is available for downloading from the EndNote Support page. Read the instructions.
- EndNote X3 and earlier are not considered compatible with Word 2010. Click here is for more information on compatibility.
- Join an EndNote Discussion Forum
Downloads
Link to the EndNote Support page for the latest news and downloads for:
- Import Filters
- Output Styles
- Connection Files
Download Information
![]()
EndNote is a program for managing bibliographic citations. It can automate much of the work of organizing and formatting citations and bibliographies in your writing. EndNote can connect to online sources such as EUREKA Library Catalog and article databases, output results in over 1,000 different bibliographic styles, and more.
If you are upgrading from an earlier version of EndNote be sure to refer to the EndNote Getting Started Guide chapter 1 (Macintosh installation) or Chapter 2 (Windows installation) for important instructions before you begin your upgrade. EndNote recommends uinstalling X3 before installing X4. Be sure you have backed-up your data.
EndNote X5 is available free of charge to CSUS students, faculty and staff. It is best to download while on campus; fewer problems will be encountered.
EndNote X6 is available free of charge to CSUS students, faculty and staff. Downloading seems to work from off-campus--at least we haven't heard any complaints that it doesn't.
Download it from here: http://software.csus.edu.edu
Where to Get Help
Don't get discouraged if it takes a little while to get comfortable using EndNote. With a little practice it isn't difficult, and there are many resources available for help and information.
- EndNote's built-in help system: just press F1
- EndNote manual in PDF format: in Windows XP, click Start Menu / All Programs / EndNote / EndNote Manual
- ISI's EndNote support page
- ISI's EndNote Video Tutorials and User Manual for X5 User Manual for X6
Or contact one of the Library's EndNote Team:
- Linda Goff 278-5981 (for Mac help)
- Debbie Metzger 278-7509
- Mary Reddick 278-4045
Or attend one of the 75 minute EndNote Workshops for Faculty and Graduate Students
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I use one library file for all my references, or separate libraries for different projects?
It may be easiest to use one library for everything and set up a separate group of references for each project, but it's entirely up to you. EndNote works fine with multiple library files.
I already have a long bibliography that I typed in Word. Can I convert it to an EndNote library?
Unfortunately there's no easy way to do this automatically. The best way is to search for your references online (if possible) and download them into EndNote.
How do I download search results from my favorite database into EndNote?
Every database works a little differently. In general, the procedure is:
- Search the database as usual.
- Choose the references you want to save.
- Use the database's Save or Export function. There's often a choice to export to EndNote, or save references in a text file that EndNote can read via Import on the File menu.
I tried using EndNote's Online Search feature to search a database, but it asks for a password.
Online Search works best with library catalogs like The EUREKA Library Catalog or free databases such as Pubmed. Most databases work best by exporting from your browser rather than using EndNote's Online Search function.
How do I add page numbers to an in-text citation?
Right-click the formatted citation and choose "Edit Citation" from the menu. Fill in the page numbers (including spaces and punctuation) in the "Pages" field, click OK, then reformat your bibliography.
I installed EndNote, but it says it's a demo version that will expire soon. How do I install the full version?
This usually happens when the files from EndNote's installation package were not extracted properly. You will need to uninstall the demo version, then reinstall the program. Be sure to first Save the program, then Open or Run.
Library EndNote Training Team |
Debbie Metzger, Linda Goff, Mary Reddick Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
