Cochrane LibraryEBSCO DatabasesEmeraldGoogle ScholarJSTOROneSearch Library CatalogProject MusePubMedScience Direct (Elsevier)SciFinderSocial Sciences Full TextWiley InterscienceWorldCatWeb of Science
Annotated Bibliographies with MLA [Eng 200A]Changing Capitalization
FiltersOutput StylesTerm Lists/Journal Abbreviations
This is the "Adding References" page of the "EndNote X7/X8 (and earlier editions)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote X7/X8 (and earlier editions)   Tags: bibliographic manager, citations, how_to  

These instructions were written as a short introduction to using EndNote X3, but have been updated continuously to reflect changes to X8.
Last Updated: Nov 28, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/EndNote Print Guide RSS Updates

Adding References Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Saving Citations from Online Databases: Direct Import

With EndNote minimized, search the database via the web interface as you normally would.  Every database works a little differently, so check the drop-down menu under Adding References tab for a particular database.

The exact method will vary with the database vendor, however here are the general instructions:

  1. Select or mark  the citations you want to save
  2. Click on any option that indicates you want to Download or Export those references (terminology varies by vendor or database)
  3. Choose "Save to EndNote" or "Export to your bibliographic software" or a similar option.
  4. One of two things will happen:
    1. The references will be directly imported into EndNote
    2. You will be prompted to Choose an import filter for the database and then the references will be directly imported into EndNote.
  5. If unsuccessful, try saving the file as a tab delimited text file and importing the .txt file
 

Entering References Manually

The most basic way to enter a reference is by typing it in. 

  1. From the main menu bar, click References, then  New Reference

  1. Select the appropriate Reference Type (book, journal, etc.) from the pull-down menu
  2. Enter the citation information [EndNote adds punctuation]
  3. Enter surname first [Einstein, Albert]
  4. Enter each author on a separate line
  5. Enter volume or issue numbers only [e.g. 5 not v.5]
  6. Separate keywords with a semicolon, backslash or enter
  7. Notes are fields that you can define.

Press Tab to move between fields. 

Tip: When entering a corporate or institutional author name like "California State University"or "Centers for Disease Control", enter a comma after the name. This will prevent EndNote from inverting or abbreviating the name as it would for an individual author's.

To close a reference click on the X button or select Close Reference under  File
The Preview pane at the bottom of the screen displays a selected reference in the selected format style. Not all fields will be displayed. To see the complete reference double click on it from the main [Library]window.

To Change the bibliographic format style:

  1. Highlight the reference you wish to change [or go to Edit then Select All to change every reference]
  2. Click on the Select Another Style drop-down menu. If you don't see the format you need, click on the Select Another Style and a very long list will appear
 

Using Import Filters (for files that don't export automatically)

Not all databases offer the direct export option. For those that don't you can use EndNote's import filters to transfer the reference data into your EndNote library. Here's how:

  1. Save the results you wish to keep in a text file
  2. From EndNote's File menu, choose Import
  3. Select the text file that contains your saved results
  4. From the Import Options menu, select Other Filters
  5. Select the filter that corresponds to the database your results came from
  6. Click the Import button

    If what you are looking for is not on any of the lists, you can go to the EndNote Import Filter site,
    http://www.endnote.com/support/enfilters.asp to find the correct filter.
    Click here for more detailed instructionsInstalling EncNote X3 Import Filter Download Instructions.

Library EndNote Training Team

Profile Image
Deborah Metzger
Contact Info
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip