Cochrane LibraryEBSCO DatabasesEmeraldGoogle ScholarJSTOROneSearch Library CatalogProject MusePubMedScience Direct (Elsevier)SciFinder ScholarSocial Sciences Full TextWiley InterscienceWorldCatWeb of Science
Annotated Bibliographies with MLA [Eng 200A]Changing Capitalization
FiltersOutput StylesTerm Lists/Journal Abbreviations
This is the "Home" page of the "EndNote X7 (and earlier editions)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote X7 (and earlier editions)   Tags: bibliographic manager, citations, how_to  

These instructions were written as a short introduction to using EndNote X3, but have been updated continuously to reflect changes to our current version, X7.
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/EndNote Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

EndNote @CSUS News

  • X7 is now available [Jan 2014] from the campus download site. Enhancements for PDF's are noteable.  Click here to see if it is time for you to upgrade.
  • Endnote X6 is here [3/8/13] and downloadable from the campus for both MAC and Windows [not Windows 8]. New features include: direct export from PubMed {although URL may not be included}; change case in fields; new layout of references window; and new ratings and read/unread status. 
  • EndNote X5 is here [12/3/2012] and downloadable from the campus for both MAC and Windows. There are some minor differences between X4 and X5.
  • EndNote X4 is now available for download from the campus for both MAC and Windows.
  • Update 4.0.2  is available for Windows and Mac users and includes a number of improvements. Note: You must have a licensed copy of EndNote X4.0 or EndNote X4.0.1 for Windows installed to run the X4.0.2 update. It is available for downloading from the EndNote Support page. Read the instructions.
  • EndNote X3 and earlier are not considered compatible with Word 2010. Click here is for more information on compatibility.
  • Join an EndNote Discussion Forum
 

Downloads

 

Overview


 

 

EndNote graphic

EndNote is a program for managing references.
Use it to:

  • Organize References
  • Create Bibliographies
  • Insert and format citations in papers

Continue reading the box below to learn more about EndNote [desktop version]

EndNote Web is the online component of EndNote. It has similar functions, although it is much more limited and not as robust as the desktop version of EndNote.  Students, faculty and staff can create an account.  At this time we do not offer assistance in EndNote Web's use, except for sharing references.

For additional information, and how to create an EndNote Web account, select the Sharing References tab at the top of the page).

 

Downloading

Downloading EndNote X7  (Desktop):
It is available free of charge to CSUS students, faculty and staff from the campus software download page: http://software.csus.edu

If you are upgrading from an earlier version of EndNote EndNote recommends uninstalling earlier versions. Click here for more information.

 

Where to Get Help

Don't get discouraged if it takes a little while to get comfortable using EndNote. With a little practice it isn't difficult, and there are many resources available for help and information.

Or contact one of the Library's EndNote Team:

 

Frequently Asked Questions

I'm having problems  exporting citations with my Mac computer....

Make sure you are using Firefox as your browser.

Should I use one library file for all my references, or separate libraries for different projects?

It may be easiest to use one library for everything and set up a separate group of references for each project, but it's entirely up to you.  EndNote works fine with multiple library files.

I already have a long bibliography that I typed in Word. Can I convert it to an EndNote library?

Unfortunately there's no easy way to do this automatically. The best way is to search for your references online (if possible) and download them into EndNote.

How do I download search results from my favorite database into EndNote?

Every database works a little differently. In general, the procedure is:

  1. Search the database as usual.
  2. Choose the references you want to save.
  3. Use the database's Save or Export function.  There's often a choice to export to EndNote, or save references in a text file that EndNote can read via Import on the File menu.

I tried using EndNote's Online Search feature to search a database, but it asks for a password.

Online Search works best with library catalogs like OneSearch Library Catalog Local Library collection or free databases such as Pubmed.  Most databases work best by exporting from your browser rather than using EndNote's Online Search function.

How do I add page numbers to an in-text citation?

Right-click the formatted citation and choose "Edit Citation" from the menu. Fill in the page numbers (including spaces and punctuation) in the "Pages" field, click OK, then reformat your bibliography.

I installed EndNote, but it says it's a demo version that will expire soon. How do I install the full version?

This usually happens when the files from EndNote's installation package were not extracted properly. You will need to uninstall the demo version, then reinstall the program.  Be sure to first Save the program, then Open or Run.

Library EndNote Training Team

Debbie Metzger, Linda Goff, Mary Reddick
Contact Info
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-6708

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip