Primary Sources

This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in social sciences, humanities, science, education, and most areas of academic study.

Collection of primary source materials documenting American History. Please note the Sac State subscription is limited to Module II which includes Civil War, Reconstruction, and the Modern Era: 1860-1945.

This is the comprehensive Anthropology index which combines the holdings of Anthropological Index and the Anthropological Literature databases. This database covers the anthropological literature (articles, reports, commentaries) from the 19th century to the present.

Spans the sixteenth to twentieth centuries and is the largest digital collection of historical primary source publications relating to the history and study of sex, sexuality, and gender research and gender studies research. Includes these collections:
- LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I and II
- Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
- International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
- L’Enfer de la Bibliothèque Nationale de France

Artstor is database of millions of images with a suite of tools for teaching and research. Geared toward the visual arts, Artstor also has images from across the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts indexes and provides abstracts of over 2,100 journals, including key historical journals from virtually every major country. CLIO Notes feature provides regional chronologies and discussion questions for each country. Advance searching allows limit by decade or century and CLIO Alert sends notice of new articles fitting a saved search.

Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, American Visions, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers + Colleges, Civil War Times Illustrated, CQ Weekly, Discover, Economist, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 88,000 biographies and 60,000 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra (School Edition) contains more than 540 pamphlets, nearly 150 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac + Book of Facts), an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps + flags, color PDF and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains over 2 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, in the area of psychology and related fields dating back to 1840. The database includes international material selected from thousand of journals in 24 languages, English-language book chapters and entire books in psychology and related fields. More than 9,900 journals on psychology and related fields are indexed and over 65,000 records added annually for a total of over 1.5 million records.

A collection of primary source materials about slavery, including laws, legal cases, Congressional debates, historic books & pamphlets, and modern histories and law reviews.

Note: This is an online resource free to all who register. The Sac State Library provides access for current students, faculty and staff. Anybody without a current SacLink account can register with the provider here: http://home.heinonline.org/access-registration/