Archival sources used in research require citation. Methods for citing some primary sources like archival and manuscript collections differ from those for published works. Below are the elements included in an archival source bibliographic citation and footnote. You may wish to consult the Purdue Online Writing Lab for further tips to construct your bibliography and footnotes. Image published under CC-NC-BY-2.5 license
Citing Archival and Unpublished Material
Bibliography
- [Name of Collection]. Gerth Special Collections and University Archives, University Library, California State University, Sacramento.
- Example: Mary Tsukamoto Collection, Gerth Special Collections and University Archives, University Library, California State University, Sacramento
Footnote
- [Identification of item including format, title and date], [Name of Collection], [Box number/Folder number], Gerth Special Collections and University Archives, University Library, California State University, Sacramento.
- Example: Photograph, Departure Day, 1942, Mary Tsukamoto Collection, Box 4, Folder 160, Gerth Special Collections and University Archives, University Library, California State University, Sacramento.
Published Material located in an Archival Collection
Bibliography
- [Name of Collection]. Gerth Special Collections and University Archives, University Library, California State University, Sacramento.
- Example: Mary Shigeo Collection. Gerth Special Collections and University Archives, University Library, California State University, Sacramento.
Footnote
- [Author], [Title], [Publisher information], [page numbers], [Name of Collection]. Gerth Special Collections and University Archives, University Library, California State University, Sacramento.
- Example: United States. War Relocation Authority. Nisei in Uniform. (Washington : U.S. G.P.O., 1944). pp. 38-39. Mary Shigeo Collection. Gerth Special Collections and University Archives, University Library, California State University, Sacramento.
Contributed by J. Thomas, MLIS, 2019
