Use this guide as a starting point for research on the interdisciplinary areas that collectively make up the field of Classical studies, the including mythology, religion, history, art and archaeology, literature, etc of ancient Greece and Rome. The University Library's general stacks and the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection together have an array of resources available to meet your research needs. Feel free to contact me by e-mail or phone for further assistance or to make an appointment for a research consultation.
Note: Throughout this guide, all links open in new windows.
For more information about the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection, visit the Collection's Web site; for an in-depth profile and 20-year retrospective of the collection's growth and activities from 2003-2023, see my article “California Zephyr: The Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection as a Cultural Repository and Research Destination,” American Journal of Contemporary Hellenic Issues, vol. 15, winter 2024-2025 (online; 15 pages).
Locations:
With the exception of the rare and media materials, the Collection is housed in a separate, named area on the third floor of the University Library and is accessible the same hours as the main library building. Rare and archival materials are located in the Gerth Department of Special Collections and University Archives, which has more limited hours, and media materials can be found either in the User Services Department (audiovisual) or on the second floor (microforms).
Materials in the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection have several designated locations (click on thumbnail images for larger maps):
| 2 North Microfilm Collection (Cabinets 56-57) |  |
| 3 North Tsakopoulos |  |
| 3 North Tsakopoulos Oversize | |
| 3 North Tsakopoulos Juvenile | |
| 3 North Tsakopoulos Reference | |
| Gerth Special Collections and University Archives (1 South) |  |
