Research Guides: Classical Studies: Dictionaries

Hint:

To decode abbreviated citations to Classical works (e.g., Pliny HN 34.69-70; Isoc. Paneg. 133) and standard secondary works, consult section B. Authors and Books in the Oxford Classical Dictionary list of abbreviations.

Dictionaries

Sources are listed by type and separated by language: English; Greek; other languages.(Note: (FT) following the item title will link to the full-text of the resource; otherwise the link directs to the bibliographic record of the resource.)

Oxford Classical Dictionary. (FT)
Hornblower, Simon, and Spawforth, Antony, eds.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2012.
4th rev. ed.

Standard one-volume reference in English on Classical antiquity.
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World. (FT)
Roberts, John, ed.
[Oxford]: Oxford University Press, 2007.
more...less...
"Spanning almost one thousand years, from the first Olympic Games in 776 BC to the death of Marcus Aurelius in AD 180, this accessible and wide-ranging reference work draws on the groundbreaking Oxford Classical Dictionary to present more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. The dictionary covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological, from Achilles to Zeno."
Cassell Dictionary of Classical Mythology.
March, Jennifer R
London: Cassell, 1998

BL715 .M37 1998 | 3 NORTH Tsak. Reference
more...less...
Includes useful genealogical tables.

Ancient Greek Language Dictionaries, Grammars, and Thesauri

Numerous other Ancient Greek dictionaries can be found at 2 NORTH Reference, 3 NORTH and in the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection beginning at call number PA 439.

A Greek-English Lexicon.
Liddell, Henry George, and Robert Scott. Revised by Henry Stuart Jones with Roderick McKenzie and others. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1996.
9th ed.

PA 445 .E5 L6 1996 | 2 NORTH Reference
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature.
Arndt, William. Revised and edited by Frederick William Danker
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2000.
3rd ed.

PA 881 .B38 2000 | 2 NORTH Reference
A Patristic Greek Lexicon.
Lampe, G.W.H.
Oxford; New York : Clarendon, 1995, 1961.

PA681 .P38 1995 | 3 NORTH Tsak. Reference
Greek Lexicon of the Roman and Byzantine Periods: (From B. C. 146 to A. D. 1100).
Sophocles, E.A.
Hildesheim; New York: George Olms, 1975.
Repr. of the Memorial ed.

PA 445 .E5 .S67 1975 | 3 NORTH Tsak. Reference
A Greek Grammar for Schools and Colleges.
Symthe, Herbert Weir.
New York: American Book Company, 1916.

PA258 .S6 1916 | 3 NORTH Tsak.
more...less...
Other Greek grammars can be found in the PA 250 call number range on both 3 NORTH and 3 NORTH Tsakopoulos.
The Elements of New Testament Greek.
Wenham, John William.
Cambridge [Eng.]; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1965.

PA 817 .W47 | 3 NORTH
more...less...
Other New Testament Greek grammars can be found in the PA 817 call number range on both 3 NORTH and 3 NORTH Tsakopoulos.

Latin Language Dictionaries, Grammars, and Thesauri

Latin Dictionary Founded on Andrews' Edition of Freund's Latin Dictionary.
Andrews, E. A.
Oxford, Clarendon Press [1962, 1897].
Rev., enl., and in great part rewritten by Charlton T. Lewis and Charles Short.

PA 2365 .E5 A7 1962 | 2 NORTH Reference
PA 2365 .E5 A566 1917 | 3 NORTH Tsak.

Numerous other Latin dictionaries can be found at 2 NORTH Reference, 3 NORTH and in the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection beginning at call number PA 2365.

Gildersleeve's Latin Grammar.
Gildersleeve, Basil L.
Wauconda, Ill.: Bolchazy-Carducci Publishers, 1997.
3rd ed.

PA2087 .G5 1997 | 3 NORTH Tsak.
Medieval Latin: An Introduction and Bibliographical Guide.
Mantello, F.A.C. and A.G. Rigg, eds.
Washington, D.C.: Catholic University of America Press, 1996.

PA 2802 .M43 1996 | 3 NORTH
A Glossary of Later Latin to 600 A.D..
Souter, Alexander.
Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1949.

PA2308 .S6 1949 | 3 NORTH Tsak. Reference
PA 2371 .S6 1964 | 2 NORTH Reference

Last Updated: Feb 28, 2025 6:32 AM