Research Guides: Economics: Databases and Journal Articles

Search these Databases for articles

The databases listed are recommended for locating articles on economics topics. See the Databases & Article Searching page Economics for more database options.

EconLit (EBSCO)
'... world's foremost source of references to economic literature...'
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
... all-subject database includes articles from 1975 to present.
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
'...advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and company information...'
National Bureau of Economic Research
The National Bureau of Economic Research, NBER, is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.
State Statistics
RAND California is a subscription-based service related to California economic and public policy issues. Contains time series data for social, business, economic, health, education, environmental and government measures for all 50 states and additional measures specific to California. Data may be available annually, quarterly or monthly for the US, individual states, counties, cities and zip codes.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Search this database for COUNTRY REPORTS covering economic conditions, political background, economic competitiveness, etc. provided from CountryWatch, IHS Global, OECD, and PRS Group
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR)
'...the World Bank’s official open access repository; ... contains research from thousands of works including: World Bank published books, World Development Reports (WDRs), Policy Research Working Papers, Economic and Sector Work studies, and journal articles that have been published in World Bank Economic Review and World Bank Research Observer...'

Finding specific journals

Use Journal Search to find a specific journal by the journal name or the journal ISSN. You can also seach a alphbetical list of journals titles.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches for references to scholarly articles and research papers. Sometimes the full text is posted online and linked, other times users will see a "Find It at Sac State" option next to the Google Scholar listing (see explaination above). Follow these instructions to configure Google Scholar to display the "Find It at Sac State" link. Except for the most simple queries, use the Google Scholar Advanced Search menu, which appears when you click on the arrow within the single Google Scholar Advanced Search box.

Click here for help using Google Scholar.

Last Updated: Apr 9, 2025 2:46 PM