Economics

Vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available.

Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Also available at 2 NORTH Reference HJ2051 A61

Annual summary of commentary on current economic conditions by Federal Reserve district.

BEA’s national economic statistics provide a comprehensive view of U.S. production, consumption, investment, exports and imports, and income and saving. These statistics are best known by summary measures such as gross domestic product (GDP), corporate profits, personal income and spending, and personal saving.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

e-book

The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.

Economic Indicators is a monthly publication prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the congressional Joint Economic Committee. It provides information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.

Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government.

Provides detailed statistics on goods and estimates of services shipped from the U.S. to foreign countries.

Historical economic data

Download, graph, and track 247,000 US and international time series from 79 sources.

e-book

The principal journal of fact, analysis, and research from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, an agency within the U.S. Department of Labor. Provides a wealth of research on the labor force, economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and more.

American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB) is an annual series that provides national and subnational data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry. SUSB covers most of the country's economic activity. The series excludes data on nonemployer businesses, private households, railroads, agricultural production, and most government entities.

The monthly Survey of Current Business is BEA’s definitive source of information about its economic accounts. Each issue includes numerous tables and charts of various economic estimates.

The Census Bureau is part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. The U.S. Census Bureau is overseen by the Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) within the Department of Commerce.

Economists at the Federal Reserve Board conduct innovative research on a broad range of topics in economics and finance.

From the CA Dept. of Finance

The California County Profiles, updated by the California Department of Finance, is a compilation of selected economic, social, and demographic data for California and its 58 counties.

Links to three research units: Demographic Research Unit- the official source of demographic data for state planning and budgeting; the Economic Research Unit -prepares economic forecasts and analyses of various economic developments; and the Financial Research Unit- responsible for estimating the state’s major General Fund and special fund tax revenues for the Governor’s Budget and the May Revision.

From the CA Employment Development Department

California Economic Indicators is a bimonthly summary of economic trends and data relating to the State of California.
Developments in California over the most recent months are reviewed in a brief text, and then summarized in current data tables which show changes over the previous year.

From the CA Dept. of Finance

CCSCE was founded as an independent, private economic research organization specializing in the analysis and study of California and focuses on long-term economic and demographic trends in the state and its major economic regions.

CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.

American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

RAND California contains more than 170 databases in the categories described below. Much of the data are available at the national, state, county, and city levels. Data are updated on a regular basis.

From the US Census

Updated by the California Department of Finance; a compilation of selected economic, social, and demographic data for California and its 58 counties. Can select specific county.

Data sets and statistics on a variety of topics; state salaries, housing; government, health, education, etc.

Exploring the nexus between economics and national security at a time when international relations are increasingly defined by the pursuit of economic and commercial power.

Analysis and forecasts of area economic and business climate

The project began in July, 1994, with the development of a regional economic and business data collection and forecasting center, in conjunction with California State University, Sacramento's Real Estate and Land Use Institute. Forecasts are available on unemployment, employment, and taxable sales.

By collecting and analyzing data from numerous sources, City-data.com creates detailed, informative profiles of all cities in the United States.

Cost of Living, Schools, Crime, Rates, House Prices, etc