Research Guides: Geology & Earth Sciences: Journal Articles

Hints

Did you know that you can't search the Library databases the same way you do Google? Watch this short video to learn how to search for articles effectively.

To find a specific journal select Advanced Search in OneSearch. Change Any field to Title and choose Material Type = journals

To improve your database search results try using the truncation symbol, an asterisk * Click here to learn more about truncation when searching the EbscoHost databases.

Indexes--Old School, but when the Internet goes down.....

California Geology Magazine Index (1948-1986) Ref TN 24 .C2 A42
Searchable databse is online. Also indexed in GeoRef.
We own the journal in print, California Geology Magazine 1971-2001 and previously known as Mineral information service : a publication of the California Division of Mines and Geology 1948-1970.

Consolidated Index of Publications, [CDMG] (1880-1943) Ref TN 24 .C2 A4
Issued by the California Division of Mines and Geology (CDMG and currently known as the California Geological Survey. Subject index to ~ 170 bulletins and reports of the State Mineralogist. It indexes: California Geology, California Journal of Mines & Geology and the Mineral Information service.

List of Available Publications [CDMG] (1944-2002) Ref TN 24 .C2 A41
An annual update to the above. Also indexes the Special Report, County Report, Miscellaneous Publications and various map series published by the Division.

Article Databases

GeoRef
Produced by the American Geological Institute, this database is a comprehensive geoscience database containing over 2.2 million bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals and other sources covering mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates.

Articles can be identified by searching in one of the Library databases. There may be aditional databases listed under the Specific Subjects within Geology tab.

U.S.G.S. Publications Warehouse
Searches the Publications Warehouse, but remember, not all USGS documents are available online. Check EUREKA for publications you are not able to find in this database.
Engineering Village 2
Indexes journals, technical reports, and conferences. Broad coverage of engineering and applied science back to 1969.
Alphabetical list of Databases
Includes a description of each database as well as the years included.

Science Direct (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text online database for scientific, technical and medical information as well as information in the social sciences, business, and the arts and humanities. Access to over 2,200 journals and 26,000 books. Coverage 1823-present. Updated 8/14/14
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in social sciences, humanities, science, education, and most areas of academic study.

Finding the Actual Article

Many of the databases will only provide you with a citation. To retreive the full text of an article from within most databases, use the Find It @SacState link, which can usually be found at the end of a database record summary.

If You Already have a Citation for a USGS publication
Enter as much information as you have to determine if the publication is available online (many are). The new interface makes using the Publications Warehouse much easier.
Use OneSearch for USGS publications
The Library receives many publications from the USGS. Begin with OneSearch searching for title of the article/publication. If you don't have luck try a keyword search under the series name (professional papers, water supply paper, etc.) If all else fails, go to the list of the most popular series listed in the USGS tab at the top of the page.

Use OneSearch for USGS publications
The Library receives many publications from the USGS. Begin with OneSearch searching for title of the article/publication. If you don't have luck try a keyword search under the series name (professional papers, water supply paper, etc.) If all else fails, go to the list of the most popular series listed in the USGS tab at the top of the page.

Locating Articles: Online or Print
Explains how to get to the article 2 ways: 1) when you are in a database, 2) when you start with a citation.

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2024 1:52 PM