Research Guides: Geology & Earth Sciences: Maps/Atlases

Learning About Maps

State Geologic Maps
Great site to learn how to read a geologic map. Joint effort of the USGS and the National Park Service.
Reading Topoographic Maps by James R. Chaplin
Well organized explanation to help you read a topographic map, including scale, latitude & longitude, range, section, contours. Also inlcudes exercises for teachers.
Topographic Map Symbols
Every symbol for every map! It's here; there is so much that it can be overwhelming. Look for the type of feature (coastal, contour, glacier, mine, building, etc.) and go from there.

Try these....

Perry Castenada Map Library
Great collection of online maps
David Rumsey Map Collection--Geology
Online historical map collection. Fun to browse.

Maps and Atlases in the CSUS Library

Use the Geography: Maps and Atlases Research Guide to help you use our map collection.

Maps/Atlases

California GeoTour
"An interactive index of Web pages of geologic field trip guides and related Web sites compiled by the California Geological Survey (CGS) for the benefit of all who have wondered about California's geologic features. We have listed Web pages that contain geologic information, including photographs, maps, text and directions for local natural features throughout the state."
California Water Atlas
Originally published in 1979, The California Water Atlas, a monument of 20th century cartographic publishing, has been scanned and put online for free public access. Several ways to view this amazing resource. We also have a copy in print, 2 North Ref Desk Collection G 1526 .C3 .C3 1979
more...less...
Large, beautifully illustrated color atlas treating every aspect of water supply, delivery and use in California: the nature of the water environment; the changes people have made in that environment; the history of water development; artificial water systems; water pricing and consumption; industrial-recreation-energy uses; water quality and future policy. Numerous maps and graphic charts. Narrative and graphic elements have been developed as "equal partners". Major chapters are Natural Endowment, Advent of Human Settlement, Colorado River, Great Valley Systems, Operation of Modern Water Systems, Economics of Water, Commercial and Recreational Water Use, Water Quality, and Unresolved Questions for the Future.
Geologic Atlas of California (and Index)
Issued by the California Division of Mines and Geology. Consists of 27 colored map sheets showing the regional distribution and inter-relationships of the various rock units and major geologic structures present in California. Reference is made to the appropriate USGS topographic maps covering each of the 27 major map sheets.
Print copy on 2 South Ref Desk Collection, TN 24 .C2 A3224
Available online at: https://maps.conservation.ca.gov/geology
National Geologic Map Database
An index to geologic and geoscience-related mapes in the US. Can be searched by place name, state and map type. Links to some digital maps and GIS data.
National Map Viewer
This viewer can be used to search for a location, create a custom map of a specific area or find latitude and longitude.
Soil Surveys of California
Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS). Both the manuscript and map is available.
We also have a copy in print, 2 S Ref S599.C3 U5
more...less...
Issued by the US Department of Soils and Plant Nutrition. Soil surveys of California by county or large geographic area. Soil maps and interpretations are included; discussion of the formation and classification of the soils in the area; soil laboratory data provided when available; climate and general agricultural information are covered. Also discussed are engineering uses of soils, soil suitability for drainage, irrigation, recreation, wildlife, and community planning. Published cooperatively with the assistance of the University of California Agricultural Experiment Station.
USGS Historical Map Collection
The historical topographic map collection contains all editions and all scales of USGS topographic quadrangles. Files are high resolution (600 DPI) scanned images of all maps from the USGS legacy collection.” This is over 200,000 maps spanning 1884-2006.”

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2024 1:52 PM