Research Guides: Geology & Earth Sciences: Paleontology

Web Sites

University of California Museum of Paleontology
A wealth of links, data, and online collections. Includes resources for teachers, images, and online exhibits.
University of Michigan Online Respository of Fossils
offers a way to view specimens in 2 and 3D from the Paleontology Museum's collects.

Paleontology News

News from Science Daily

Databases

The first databases to search is GeoRef, but you also may want to consider one of the databases listed below. This list is specific to paleontology and although there will be redundancy between what you find here and in the other geology databases, you may find just the gem you hoping for.

Bibliography of Fossil Vertebrates
Indexes covers from 1509-1993.
From the Society of Vertebrate Paleontology

Biological Abstracts
Since paleontology is the study of life preserved through the fossil record, you might want to search a biology database for articles about fossils and evolution.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multi-subject database, but it has good coverage in geology.
PubMed (NCBI)
PubMed indexes worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Articles indexed from 5,663 journals and many serials and online books. Some full text. Subsets to PubMed Central (full text) and PubMed Health (for consumers). Coverage 1946- to present. Access: all. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Updated 8/14/14

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2024 1:52 PM