This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "Japanese Americans in the Sacramento Region and California" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Japanese Americans in the Sacramento Region and California   Tags: california_history, history, japanese_americans, sacramento, world_war_ii  

Resources focusing on Japanese Americans in the Sacramento Region and California, with emphasis on immigration and relocation camp experiences.
Last Updated: Jan 22, 2015 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/JapaneseAmerican Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Newspapers and Electronic Databases

 

In addition to the databases listed below you can search paper and microfilm copies of local history journals and newspapers, which include:


The Californians.  1983-1995


California History. 1978-current


California Historical Quarterly. 1971-1977


California Historical Society Quarterly. 1922-1970


Golden Notes. (Sacramento County Historical Society) 1954-2000


Japanese-American courier,  January 1, 1938 - April 24, 1942. [microform] Special Collections


Sacramento Bee. 1 South Lib Media Center 1857-current (Microfilm)


Sacramento Daily Record-Union. 1 South Lib Media Center 1875-1891 (Microfilm)


Sacramento Union. 1 South Lib Media Center 1851-1906, 1968-Jan 14, 1994 (Microfilm)  

 
Sacramento Union.  1 South Sp Coll 1903-1991 (Paper)  Can be viewed by appointment,  278-6144.


Sacramento Observer.  1 South Lib Media Center 1973-current (Microfilm)



Periodicals dated 1980-current are located on 3 SOUTH in alphabetical order by periodical title.    

 

Those dated prior to 1980 are on the lower level.

 

Please note:  Off Campus access to some of these databases is restricted to CSUS faculty, staff and students and requires a SacLink login. 

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) is a solid starting place for most research topics. The database indexes thousands of scholarly journals. To limit your search to academic journals, click the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Box before you enter your search terms.
  • America: History & Life (EBSCO)
    America: History & Life is the major database on American history from pre-history to the present. Covers many ethnic groups. You can limit by historical time period by entering a date range in your search. Follow the FIND IT to locate full text.
  • Ethnic Newswatch (Proquest)
    Browse through this online collection of newspapers. Utilize options like Ethnic Group to make your search more relevant.
  • NewsBank
    Choose from 101 California newspapers online including the Sacramento Bee, Contra Costa Times, Fresno Bee, San Francisco Chronicle, San Jose Mercury News, Los Angeles Times, Modesto Bee, Santa Rosa Press Democrat. Some date from mid 1980's, others from 2001-.
  • Nichi Bei Weekly
    Nichi Bei Weekly is Northern California's Oldest Japanese American newspaper. Access is now restricted to members of the Nichi Bei Foundation.
  • Sacramento Bee
    Sacramento Bee was founded in 1857 and covers news for approximately 12,000 square miles; south to Stockton, north to the Oregon border, east to Reno and west to the San Francisco Bay Area.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Julie Thomas
Contact Info
California State University, Sacramento
Department of Special Collections & University Archives
2000 State University Drive East
Sacramento, CA 95819-6039
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip