Dept. of Special Collections & University Archives
2000 State University Drive
Sacramento, CA 95819-6039
The CSUS Library has a close relationship to the local Japanese
American community, fostered and enriched by the common interest in
preserving their history in the Sacramento and Florin areas and in our
common goal of teaching the important lessons that can be learned from
their experiences during the evacuation and relocating during World War
II. This guide will be useful for classes in Ethnic Studies,
Government, History, as well as for those researching constitutional
issues related to relocation and redress.
Our Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA) department
houses the Japanese American Archival
Collections of the Sacramento State Library but there is also a
tremendous amount of material in our Reference and Circulating
Collections as well.
This guide should be used as a starting point. It is intended to
introduce you to selected books and to point you in the direction of
additional research. Most books without prefixes are in our circulating
collections; those located in Reference or Special Collections cannot
be checked out and are noted with a "Ref" or "Special Collections"
before the call number. Click on the call number which is linked to the
record in EUREKA for status and floor location.
Terminology note: Japanese Americans who immigrated from Japan are
called Issei, or first generation; those who were born in the U.S. of
Japanese immigrant parents are called Nisei, while their children are
Sansei and their grandchildren are Yonsei. Second generation Nisei
educated in Japan are called Kibei. These four generations of Japanese
Americans are collectively called Nikkei.