Research Guides: Physical Therapy: Databases and Journal Literature

AccessPhysiotherapy

AccessPhysiotherapy® from McGraw-Hill is a comprehensive online medical resource devoted to the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy. Authoritative, trusted, and constantly updated knowledge, compiled from the best minds in PT.The modern learner thrives using learning resources in different formats. With AccessPhysiotherapy®, students have access to:

An always updating collection of leading textbooks including fully searchable archive, and NPTE-focused test prep
Guided lectures by experts
Case files to ground them in real-world scenarios
Multimedia content spanning the entire curriculum of PTAn unparalleled digital library

Search these Databases for articles

The databases listed below are recommended for locating articles on physical therapy, occupational therapy, kinesiology, and physical education. See the Physical Therapy section on the A-Z databases page for more database options.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text [Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature] covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection systematic reviews that identify an intervention for a specific disease or other problem in health care, and determines whether or not this intervention works. Includes 6,048 reviews and 2,358 protocols.
PubMed (NCBI)
PubMed indexes worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Articles indexed from 5,663 journals and many serials and online books. Some full text.
PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 31,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
This database offers comprehensive indexing of literature pertaining to sports, sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, physical fitness and related disciplines.
TRIP
The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Registered users (registration is free) benefit from extra features such as CPD, search history, and collaborative tools.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a full text online database for scientific, technical and medical information as well as information in the social sciences, business, and the arts and humanities. Access to over 2,200 journals and 26,000 books. Coverage 1823-present.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand
... full video access to thousands of video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health & Medicine, Science & Mathematics, and Archival Films & Newsreels, Guidance & Counseling and many TV programs such as NBC News, PBS, BBC and more.

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2025 9:37 AM