See also the guides United Nations Documents and International Relations.
(Note: (FT) following the item title will link to the full-text of the resource; otherwise the link directs to the bibliographic record of the resource.)
Consular despatches consist of diplomatic and consular instructions, reports, notes to and from foreign missions, and correspondence between the U.S. State Department and its overseas posts. Of interest here are the documents pertaining to consular offices in Greece, Crete, Cyprus, and Turkey (Ottoman Empire).
From The Text Message Blog of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA): "The records consist of the despatches (reports) and related enclosures received by the Department of State from American consular officers overseas.... The despatches cover a wide range of subjects. Included are replies to instructions from the Department. The topics vary by post but generally include: consular fees received and other administrative matters; arrivals and departures of American vessels (seaport posts); assistance to American seamen (seaport posts); protection of U.S. citizens; issuance of passports; trade statistics; emigration; floods, famines, epidemics, and other disasters; economic development; commerce and industry; agriculture; mining and manufacturing; transportation; and other information collected in the course of normal consular business. In addition to consular and commercial matters, the despatches can include reports on political conditions; the latter more so from posts in colonial possessions."
The MICROFILM CONTENTS link under each set provides the range of document numbers contained on each reel of microfilm by date.
To search all of NARA's Record Group 59, General Records of the Department of State, including a growing amount of material available online, see: https://catalog.archives.gov/search-within/388.
(Note: (FT) following the item title will link to the full-text of the resource; otherwise the link directs to the bibliographic record of the resource.)
NARA's Internal Affairs documents cover the whole range of domestic life of individual countries, including olitical affairs, military affairs, naval affairs, social matters, economic matters, industrial matters, communications and transportation, navigation, and scientific affairs.
Consult the Numerical-Subject Listing of Documents for Class 8 Records PDF below for a subject breakdown of microfilm roll contents for the Internal Affairs sets from 1910-1949 listed below. For example, documents on charities and philanthropic organizations will be found at 8**.14 (the ** stands in for two digit country numbers; for example, Greece=868 (881 after 1950). So in the Internal Affairs of Greece, 1940-1944 set, documents on charities and philanthropic organizations will be found on roll 6.
Beginning in 1950, the arrangement of document classes was changed. See the guide that accompanies each set from 1950-1963 referenced below for this new arrangement.
The MICROFILM CONTENTS link under each set provides the range of document numbers contained on each reel of microfilm; also, the beginning of each first reel contains brief abstracts that serve as a finding aid, or guide, to each collection.
To search all of NARA's Record Group 59, General Records of the Department of State, including a growing amount of material available online, see: https://catalog.archives.gov/search-within/388.
(Note: (FT) following the item title will link to the full-text of the resource; otherwise the link directs to the bibliographic record of the resource.)
NARA's Political Relations documents cover relations, treaties, etc., between the countries indicated in the title of each set. The MICROFILM CONTENTS link under each set provides the range of document numbers contained on each reel of microfilm; also, the beginning of each first reel contains brief abstracts that serve as a finding aid, or guide, to each collection.
To search all of NARA's Record Group 59, General Records of the Department of State, including a growing amount of material available online, see: https://catalog.archives.gov/search-within/388.
(Note: (FT) following the item title will link to the full-text of the resource; otherwise the link directs to the bibliographic record of the resource.)
To search all of the National Archives of the UK, including a growing amount of material available online, see: https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/advanced-search.
(Note: (FT) following the item title will link to the full-text of the resource; otherwise the link directs to the bibliographic record of the resource.)
