Research Guides: Modern Greek Studies: Articles & Databases

Hints

1. To find a specific print or e-journal by title or ISSN, search the Journal Titles List.

2. When you already know the article author, title, journal, issue, etc., and just need to find the full-text (if available), try the Article Citation Linker!

3. To improve your database search results try using the truncation symbol, often an asterisk "*". So searching photo* will simultaneously search photo, photos, photography, photographic, etc.

Article Databases

Because of the interdisciplinary nature of Modern Greek studies, no single database can retrieve sufficient results for every subject area. Below is a selected list of relevant article databases in the social sciences and humanities that will be helpful for Modern Greek studies research.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in social sciences, humanities, science, education, and most areas of academic study.
America: History and Life (EBSCO)
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries and covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Anthropology Plus
This is the comprehensive Anthropology index which combines the holdings of Anthropological Index and the Anthropological Literature databases. This database covers the anthropological literature (articles, reports, commentaries) from the 19th century to the present.
Atla Religion Database (EBSCO)
Compiled by the American Theological Library Association, Atla Religion Database covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Coverage: 1949 - present
Dissertations and Theses Full Text - Part A: Humanities and Social Sciences (ProQuest)
The Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection holds nearly 400 dissertations on microfilm.

See also the Ethniko Archeio Didaktorikōn Diatrivōn at the bottom of this list for full-text links to Greek dissertations.
EconLit (EBSCO)
EconLit is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. It adheres to the high quality standards long recognized by subscribers to the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) and is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research. EconLit indexes and abstracts more than 450 international economic journals and other resources in economics and related areas. Some links to full-text articles are provided. EconLit uses the JEL classification system and controlled vocabulary of keywords to index all of its records.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
Online collection of literary criticism resources including: Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism; Contemporary Literary Criticism; Drama Criticism; Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800; Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism; Shakespearean Criticism; and Short Story Criticism.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts indexes and provides abstracts of over 2,100 journals, including key historical journals from virtually every major country. CLIO Notes feature provides regional chronologies and discussion questions for each country. Advance searching allows limit by decade or century and CLIO Alert sends notice of new articles fitting a saved search.
JSTOR (All Subjects)
JSTOR is an independent not-for-profit organization which provides an electronic archive to specific scholarly journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the issues being published and the content becoming available in JSTOR. Artstor images also included.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Project Muse
Project Muse offers some 600 journal titles from 260 scholarly publishers including from the Johns Hopkins University Presss which began this project in 1995. The journals included in this database are in the areas of the humanities, social sciences and the arts.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1650 journals and other serials publications as well as conference papers, books, and dissertations. The database contains a total of 640,000 records. It is updated monthly and contains backfiles to 1963.

Ethniko Archeio Didaktorikōn Diatrivōn
Currently the database contains more than 18,000 records including full-text dissertations since 1985 and 5% of dissertations from the years 1932–1985, encompassing 80% of the
total dissertation production in Greece.

Google Scholar

Last Updated: Dec 10, 2024 2:41 PM

Modern Greek Studies

How To...

Off-campus Access

Visualizing the Search Process

Hints

Article Databases

Google Scholar