Research Guides: Modern Greek Studies: Dictionaries

Historical Dictionaries

Sources are listed by type and separated by language: English; Greek; other languages.(Note: (FT) following the item title will link to the full-text of the resource; otherwise the link directs to the bibliographic record of the resource.)

Historical Dictionary of Modern Greece.
Keridis, Dimitris, ed.
Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2009.

DF802 .K47 2009 | 3 NORTH Tsak. Reference

more... less...

Dictionary that includes the people, places, events, movements, etc. important in the modern history of Greece.
Historical Dictionary of Cyprus. (FT)
Mirbagheri, Farid, ed.
Lanham, Md.; London: Scarecrow Press, 2010

DS 54 .A28 M57 2010 | 3 NORTH Tsak. Reference and full-text on-line.

more... less...

Dictionary that includes the people, places, events, movements, etc. important in the modern histories of Cyprus.
Historical Dictionary of the Orthodox Church.
Prokurat, Michael, Alexander Golitzin, Michael D. Peterson. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1996.

BX 230 .P76 1996 | 3 NORTH Tsak. Reference

Greek Language Dictionaries, Grammars, and Thesauri

NTC's New College Greek and English Dictionary.
Nathanail, Paul, comp.
Lincolnwood, Ill., USA: National Textbook Co., 1990, c1985.

PA 1139 .E5 N37 1990 | 3 NORTH

Numerous other Greek and two-way Greek-(English, French, etc.) dictionaries can be found in the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection beginning at call number PA 1131.

Mega Lexikon tēs Hellēnikēs Glōssēs.
Dēmētrakos, Dēmētrios.
Athēnai: Ekdotikos Oikos Dēmētrakou, 1936-[50].
9 vols.

PA 441 .D46 1936 | 3 NORTH Tsak. Reference
Mega Lexikon Holēs tēs Hellēnikēs Glōssēs.
Dēmētrakos, Dēmētrios.
Athēnai: Ekdotikos Organismos N. Asēmakopoulos, c[1964].
15 vols.

PA 1131 .M442 1953 | 3 NORTH Tsak. Reference
To Megalo Lexiko tēs Neoellēnikes Glōssas, Monotoniko.
Geōrgopapadakos, A.
Athēna: Malliarēs-Paideia, 1989.
5. ekd.

PA 1131 .M44 1989 | 3 NORTH Tsak. Reference
Greek: A Comprehensive Grammar of the Modern Language.
Holton, David et al.
London; New York: Routledge, 2004.

PA 1057 .H63 1997 | 3 NORTH Tsak. Reference
PA 1057 .H63 1997 | 3 NORTH Tsak.
Greek: An Essential Grammar of the Modern Language.
Holton, David et al.
London; New York: Routledge, 2004.

PA 1058 .H54 2004 | 3 NORTH Tsak.
Concise Modern Greek Grammar.
Triantaphyllidēs, Manolēs A; trans. by John B. Burke. Thessaloniki: Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Institute of Modern Greek Studies, 1997.

PA 1058 .T713 1997 | 3 NORTH Tsak.
Thēsauros Hellenikōn Horōn. (FT)
On-line thesaurus of the Modern Greek language searchable by both general and medical terms using hierarchical and alphabetic methods. A product of the National Documentation Center (EKT).
Antilexikon: Hē Thēsauros Hellēnikon Lexeōn kai Phraseōn: Diatetagmenōn kata Logikēn Seiran.
Vostantzoglou, Theologos.
Athēnai: [s.n.], 1949.

PA 1117 .V97 1949 | 3 NORTH Tsak. Reference

Last Updated: Feb 28, 2025 2:34 PM