Research Guides: Market Research: Market Size

Welcome

This guide will help you find resources for doing secondary market research such as collecting demographic, lifestyle, market size, information.

The guide also provides links to resources with marketing scales and measurements used in conducting primary market research.

If you need additional help with your research, I'm available for consultations just email, call, or chat with me!

Anne Bradley
bradleya@csus.edu
916-278-4350

Use these resources to determine the market size, major players, etc. of a particular product or industry.

IBISWorld
Includes 700 Industry Market Research reports, hundreds of Specialized Industries reports, and several dozen California-specific reports. Each report is 20-30 pages and include industry-wide ratios.
Statista
A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics - consumer goods, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest - and provides exportable data and facts from a wide range of sources.
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Type search in box then scroll down to Document Type and click box next to Market Research. This will limit search to market research reports.

Industry Profiles from Business Source Complete
Covers select consumer, energy, and transportation markets. The industry profiles identify market size and segmentation, competitive landscape and provide forecast data of market performance and trends. Click "Industry" tab to get started.
S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys
Provides an overview of 52 major industries and includes major competitors.
Available in print at 2 North Reference HG 4921 .S65
SBDC Small Business Snapshots
Very selective coverage, but for the businesses covered information includes industry trends, market statistics, customer demographics, recent business articles, and links to industry trade associations.
O*Net
Offers occupational information and labor market research including information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with occupations. This information can be used to facilitate career exploration, vocational counseling, and a variety of human resources functions.

These related research guides may also be of use:

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2025 2:20 PM