|
Nouns
editor(s) -- ed. or eds
Revised Edition -- rev. ed.
compiler(s) -- comp. or comps.
translator(s) --trans. (for both singular and plural)
no date -- n.d.
volume(s) -- vol(s).
|
Verbs
edited by ( in bibliography) / ed. (in notes)
compiled by ( in bibliography) /comp. (in note)
translated by (in bibliography) / trans. (in note)
|
When editor(s), compiler(s) or translator(s) is in place of author
♦ (Knight 2015)
Knight, Alicia, ed. 2015. Enhanced Oil Recovery: Methods, Economic Benefits and Impacts on the Environment.
New York: Nova Publishers.
♦ (Silverstein 1974)
Silverstein, Theodore, trans. 1974. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
When both author and editor(s), compiler(s) or translator(s) are listed
♦ (García Márquez 1970)
García Márquez, Gabriel. 1970. One Hundred Years of Solitude. Translated by Gregory Rabassa. Oprah's Book
Club. New York; Evanston: Harper & Row, Publishers.
Chapter in an edited book / Contribution to a mult-iauthor book
♦ (Gould 1984)
Gould, Glenn. 1984. "Streisand as Schwarzkopt." In The Glenn Gould Readder, edited by Tim page, 308-11.
New York: Vintage.
♦ (Samples 2006)
Samples, John. 2006. "The Origins of Modern Campaign Finance Law." Chap. 7 in The Fallacy of Campaign
Finance Reform. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
Books with edition number (abbreviated as "ed." /"rev. ed." for Revised Edition )
♦ (Chicago Manual 2017)
The Chicago Manual of Style. 2017. 17th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
♦ (Palfrey 2011)
Palfrey, Simon. 2011. Doing Shakespeare. Rev. ed. Arden Shakespeare. London: Arden Shakespeare: Methuen
Drama.
Books with volume number
--- When a multi-volume, multiyear work is included as an entry in the reference list, the in-text citation should provide the specific volume number (maybe with page number).
♦ (Falola and Jean-Jacques 2016, 1:101) or (Falola and Jean-Jacques 2016, vol. 1)
Falola, Toyin, and Daniel Jean-Jacques, eds. 2016. Africa: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society. 3 vols. Santa
Barbara, California: ABC-CLIO.
--- When a specific volume is cited:
♦ (Hayek 2011, 329)
Hayek, F. A. 2011. The Constitution of Liberty: The Definitive Edition. Edited by Ronald Hamowy. Vol. 17 of The
Collected Works of F.A. Hayek, edited by Bruce Caldwell. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1988-.
Entries in dictionaries and encyclopedias
--- References to an alphabetically arranged work cite the item (not the volume or page number) preceded by s.v. (sub verbo, "under the word"; pl. s.vv.)
♦ (Encyclopedia Britannica 1980)
Encyclopedia Britannica. 1980. 15th ed. Chicago: Encyclopaedia Britannica. s.v. "salvation."
(Falola and Jean-Jacques 2016)
Falola, Toyin, and Daniel Jean-Jacques, eds. 2016. Africa: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society. 3 vols. Santa
Barbara, California: ABC-CLIO. s.v. "Congo"
--- To cite an entry by author
♦ (Middleton 2004)
Middleton, Richard. 2004. "Lennon, John Ono (1940-1980)." In Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
Oxford University Press.
