Research Guides: Newspapers: Databases

Newspapers (Full Text)

These databases provide full text newspaper articles to more than one newspaper.

Proquest Newspapers
Provides full text news aritcles since 1977. Coverage varies by title.
Deselect Databases except Newspapers to search just newpapers.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
The contains over 400,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a pilot project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers.

Access World News (NewsBank)
Selected U.S. newspapers full text (usually from 1990s to present).

Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers
Allows one to search and view newspaper pages from 1789-1922. The National Endowment for the Humanities aims to have every state and U.S. territory represented in Chronicling America. One organization within each state or territory will receive an award to collaborate with relevant state partners in this effort. This rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress.

WestlawNext Campus Research
Legal research database that contains case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, and legal forms. Also includes newspaper and magazine articles as well as businesses search.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Selectively provides access to newspapers from 1975.
Select newspaper from Publication Type using Adanced Search.
Ethnic Newswatch (ProQuest)
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. It includes both English and Spanish Language publications and you may search in Spanish or in English.
GenderWatch (ProQuest)
A database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Dating back to 1970 in some cases, Publications include newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, besides books, magazines & journals.
The Times Digital Archive: 1785-2013
Provides the actual article published that day.

Last Updated: Jul 30, 2024 11:16 AM