Research Guides: Newspapers: Historic Newspapers

Historic Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers
Full text early American newspapers between 1690 and 1789.

Early American Newspapers
Provides full text to 2,000 titles from all 50 states & Washington, D.C furnishing eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative updates, letters, poetry, advertisements, election returns, matrimony and death notices, maps, cartoons, & illustrations
Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities external link and the Library of Congress.

African American Newspapers Series I and II
Provides access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans from 1827 - 1998.
The Times Digital Archive: 1785-2013
London Times from its beginning 1785 to 2013. From 1992 to current is available in ProQuest's Global Newsstream.

Early American Newspapers (Microfilm)

These newspapers are in America's Historical Newspapers database.

Anti-monarchist
MICROFILM: 1811-1815.
Boston gazette
MICROFILM: 1719:Dec21)-1798:Sep17.
Boston, MA
BOSTON EVENING-POST MICROFILM: 1735:Aug18-1775:Apr24.
BOSTON POST-BOY MICROFILM: 1735:Apr21-1767:Nov9.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
The contains over 400,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a pilot project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers.
Chronicle of liberty (Charleston, S.C.)
MICROFILM: 1793:Mar25.
Connecticut courant
MICROFILM: 1764:Oct29-1820:Dec26.
Chronicling America historic American newspapers
Allows one to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 (and eventually back to 1836) and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. The National Endowment for the Humanities aims to have every state and U.S. territory represented in Chronicling America. One organization within each state or territory will receive an award to collaborate with relevant state partners in this effort. This rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress.
Daily evening gazette: and Charleston tea-table companion
MICROFILM: 1795:Jan10-1795:Feb18.
L'Echo du Sud, moniteur français
MICROFILM: 1801:Jun22-1801:Jul15.
Evening courier (Charleston, S.C.)
MICROFILM: 1798:Jul31-1978:Nov16.
Georgia gazette
MICROFILM: 1763-1770.
New Hampshire gazette
MICROFILM: 1756:Oct7-1820:Dec26.
New-York gazette
MICROFILM: 1759:Feb16-1767:Dec28.
New-York gazette, and the weekly Mercury
MICORFILM: 1768:Feb1-1783:Nov10.
New-York gazette, or, The weekly post-boy
MICROFILM: 1747:Jan19-1752:Dec25, 1757:Jan3-1758:Dec23.
Providence gazette
MICROFILM: 1762:Oct20-1825:Oct8.
South Carolina gazette
MICROFILM: 1792:Jul10-1793:Sep3.
South-Carolina independent gazette
MICROFILM: 1791:May21-1792:Sep15.
South-Carolina weekly advertiser
MICROFILM: 1783:Feb19-1783:Apr23.
South-Carolina weekly gazette
MICROFILM: 1759:Oct24-1760:Dec10.
Strength of the people
MICROFILM: 1809:Jun24-1810:Sep6.
Telegraphe: and Charleston daily advertiser
MICROFILM: 1795:Mar16-1795:Mar20.
Winyaw intelligencer
MICROFILM: 1817:Nov15-1820:Apr8.

Last Updated: Jul 30, 2024 11:16 AM