Research Guides: Geography, Maps and Atlases: Geography Statistics

Global/World

Country Studies
From the Library of Congress: reports on every county
GeoHive
All kinds of population statistics. The main component is tabulated population statistics: current, historical, estimates, projections, cities, agglomerations, etc. But also geopolitical data like the administrative divisions of countries (provinces, counties and such) of all nations of this world. In the resources section one can find a long list of national statistical agencies and other interesting resources.
Groundwater around the world : a geographic synopsis
Available at 2 SOUTH GB 1005 M26 2013
The Statesman's year-book
Available at 2 NORTH Reference JF 37 S8 (annual)
United Nations Statistical Division
Links to other statistical sites
United Nations Statistical Yearbook
e-book
Also available at 2 NORTH Reference HA 12.5 U63 (1990-2011)
The World almanac and book of facts
Available at 2 NORTH Reference AY 67 N5 W7
1923-1979, 1981-current

Data.gov
A gateway to statistics from over 100 US federal agencies
Mapping Census 2010 : the geography of American change
Available at 2 NORTH Atlas G 1201 E25 P43 2012
American Community Survey
From the US Census Bureau

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
Provides a wealth of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States. The database includes 1400+ individually indexed tables
Available at 2 NORTH Reference HA 202
Various yrs (1877-1926); 1928-current)

Statemaster.com
"a unique statistical database which allows you to research and compare a multitude of different data on US states..."
US Bureau of Labor Statistics by Geography
US Census Bureau/Geography

California almanac
Available at 2 NORTH Reference F 859.3 A15 (1984-1995)
California American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) is a nationwide survey conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau to provide communities with demographic, social, economic, and housing data every year. The California State Data Center generates reports and tabulations from data files released by the U.S. Census Bureau.
California Geoportal
From the State of California
California Statistical Abstract
2000-2006, 2008; ceased publication
Demographic Research: CA Dept.of Finance
Includes census data, reports and research papers, historic data files, etc.
Index to current urban documents
Available at 2 NORTH Reference HTZ 7165 U5 I654
(1972/73-1999/00)

State Statistics
Formerly RAND State Statistics, this is a subscription-based service related to California economic and public policy issues. Contains time series data for nearly 200 social, business, economic, health, education, environmental and government measures for all 50 states and an additional 80 measures specific to California. Data may be available annually, quarterly or monthly for the US, individual states, counties, cities and zip codes.

City of Sacramento GIS
Geographic Information System - maps and data
SacBee Data Tracker
Sacramento Area Council of Governments: Tools and Data
The Information Center has data covering El Dorado, Placer, Sacramento, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba Counties and the cities within each county

Check out these other Library Research Guides for more statistics:

DataSets and Statistics
Includes intro on using datasets and sites for agriculture, health, industry, and other datasets.
Criminal Justice: Statistics
US crime data, CA crime data, survey data, etc.
Economics
General econ info; includes tab with global, national, regional statistics and datasets.
Time Series Data
Includes business/economic, social, company data.

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2024 4:44 PM