Research Guides: Geography, Maps and Atlases: Databases for Articles

Databases

The databases listed are recommended for locating articles on Geography topics.

See the Databases & Article Searching page Geography and Maps for more database options.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in social sciences, humanities, science, education, and most areas of academic study.
GeoRef
This geoscience database containing millions of bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals and other sources in the field of geology and related area such as physical geography.
JSTOR (All Subjects)
'...does not provide electronic access to current articles; there is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the issues being published and the content becoming available; covers humanities and social sciences fields but also a selection of titles from the more science oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics...'
ERIC (EBSCO)
Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC.
Project Muse
'... subject categories: African studies, American studies, Anthropology, Art, Asian Studies, Canadian Studies, Caribbean studies, Classics, Culture and Society, Economics, Education, Film, Theater, and Performing Arts, Folklore, French Studies, Gay and Lesbian Studies, Geography, History, Irish Studies, Judaic Studies, Language, Latin American Studies, Law, Library Science and Publishing, Literary Magazines, Literature, Marketing, Mathematics, Medicine and Health, Medieval Studies, Mediterranean Studies, Music, Native American Studies, Pacific Studies, Philosophy, Philosophy and Science, Politics and Policy Studies, Population Studies, Psychology and Psychiatry, Religion, Science, Sexuality, Sociology, Women's Studies...'
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
'...coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and much more...'
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
'...scientific, technical and medical information as well as information in the social sciences, business, and the arts and humanities. ...'
Wiley Online Library (Wiley)
'...Subject covered are business, computer science, education, engineering, law, life and physical sciences, math, and psychology...'
Sacramento Bee (NewsBank)

Includes current and historic full-text articles in text and/or image form as well as full-page views of each issue of the Sacramento Bee.
Coverage: 1857 - today

To access cover-to-cover images of recent issues of the Sacramento Bee daily newspaper in a browsable format click here.
Coverage: November 7, 2017 - today

Finding specific journals

Use Journal Search to find a specific journal by the journal name or the journal ISSN. You can also seach a alphbetical list of journals titles.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches for references to scholarly articles and research papers. Sometimes the full text is posted online and linked, other times users will see a "Find It at Sac State" option next to the Google Scholar listing.

Follow these instructions to configure Google Scholar to display the "Find It at Sac State" link. Except for the most simple queries, using Google Scholar Advanced Search is recommended.

Click here for help using Google Scholar.

Click here to link to Google Scholar and then click open the stack in the upper left corner to open the Advanced Search menu.

Last Updated: Oct 26, 2025 3:52 PM