Research Guides: K-12 Resources for Teachers: Science

University Library Resources

Using One Search
OneSearch is the CSU search engine that searches through all CSU books, databases and media. This link is a saved search that aggregated results using the search terms: "Teaching Science" within "Books & Media (Sac State)" with the filter: "Creation Date 2015-2022" (try this search to get you started).
Journal Search
Use the following options to find journals:
-Enter a journal title in the search box.
-Use the Journals by category option to browse journals by category.
Journals filtered by "Science & Education"
Use this link to see a sample search of Journals filtered by "Science & Education".
A-Z Databases: Education
The Sac State University Library subscribes to 248 databases. One can filter these Databases by Subject, Type and Vendor/Provider. I suggest filtering by subject: Education. There are 18 relevant databases for research in Education. You will need your Sac State Username and Password to access the databases.

Lesson Plans

Lesson plans can be found using OneSearch; enter a topic such as science or insects or life sciences in the first box and the word curriculum in the second box. Limit to Library Location using the options to the left of the results.

See below for Online Lesson Plans.

BioEd Online
Teacher resources from Baylor College of Medicine
The Center for Science Education
Lessons organized by grade level, includes videos, activities, etc.,
Cornell University Science and Arts Gateway for Education
Cornell University’s award-winning K-12 Science & Arts Gateway for Education (SAGE); developed by the Cornell Center for Advanced Computing, this gateway provides educators and students with links to lesson planning and learning resources in science, mathematics, and the arts.
Discovery Education
written by other science teachers; can view by grade level or select by topic/grade
NASA
search by subject, grade level, type, keyword. Site also has podcasts, videos, chats, etc.,
NASA Quest
web-based interactive explorations...
National Science Digital Library
select by grade level, resource type, subject, standards; videos, games, simulations, labs, interactive, etc.,
National Science Foundation
organized by topic/research area
NOVA
From PBS; organized by topic- includes videos, teacher guides, etc.,
Science Friday (NPR)
lesson plans by subject, videos, podcasts, free educator newsletter
USGS
United states Geological Survey provides research in the natural sciences in the form of lesson plans and activities, maps, podcasts, online lectures, videos and animations, and much more. Select by primary, secondary, and undergraduate education.

Professional Associations and Groups

American Association for the Advancement of Science
'... advance science, engineering, and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people...'
American Association of Physics Teachers
'...a professional membership association of scientists dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching...'
The Association for Science Teacher Education
'...promote excellence in science teacher education world-wide through scholarship and innovation...'
California Science Teachers Association
'... with the California Alliance for Next Generation Science Standards (CA4NGSS), CSTA has developed a series of tools designed to help teachers communicate with parents about the California Next Generation Science Standards...'
National Association of Biology Teachers
'... empowers educators to provide the best possible biology and life science education for all students...'
National Science Teachers Association
'... largest organization in the world committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all....'
Next Generation Science Standards for states, by states
Nextgenscience.org:
Science NetLinks
From the American Association for the Advancement of Science: '...K-12 STEM education resource offering free teaching tools, videos, interactives, podcasts, news and hands-on activities.'

Science Experiments

Education.com
free registration - can search by grade and/or subject
FreeScienceFairProject.com
can search by category or grade level
Science Buddies
'over 1,150 Project Ideas in all areas of science'
Science Fair Projects World
Organized by category

Browsing the shelves

Method books explain various teaching strategies; think of them as "how to" books for teachers. Many contain lesson plans that illustrate the recommended teaching strategies. Method books are listed in Onesearch and typically have a subject heading added such as science -- study and teaching (primary) or biology -- study and teaching (secondary). Most method books for teaching foreign language are easily browsed in the call number area:

3 North LB 1585

4 North Q 163-164; Q 181-183

4 North QC 30

4 North QD 40-45

4 North QH 315-316

Last Updated: Oct 21, 2024 4:24 PM

K-12 Resources for Teachers

State Framework, Standards, Curriculum and Instruction Information

Google Scholar

University Library Resources

Lesson Plans

Professional Associations and Groups

Science Experiments

Browsing the shelves