Research Guides: K-12 Resources for Teachers: English Language Arts/English Language Development (ELA/ELD)

Building Hours	Closed Cesar Chavez
Research Help Desk	Closed Cesar Chavez
Gerth Special Collections & University Archives	Closed Cesar Chavez
Stinger Studio Makerspace	Closed Cesar Chavez

University Library Resources

Using One Search
OneSearch is the CSU search engine that searches through all CSU books, databases and media. This link is a saved search that aggregated results using the search terms: "Teaching Language Arts" within "Books & Media (Sac State)" with the filter: "Creation Date 2015-2022" (try this search to get you started).
Journal Search
Use the following options to find journals:
-Enter a journal title in the search box.
-Use the Journals by category option to browse journals by category.
Journals filtered by "Language Arts"
Use this link to see a sample search of Journals filtered by "Language Arts".
A-Z Databases
The Sac State University Library subscribes to 248 databases. One can filter these Databases by Subject, Type and Vendor/Provider. I suggest filtering by subject: Education. There are 18 relevant databases for research in Education. You will need your Sac State Username and Password to access the databases.

Online Resources

Comprehensive Reading Solutions
From the Georgia Department of Education; Birth to Pre-K, K-5, 6-12.
Daily Grammar
Grammar lessons organized by subject (adjectives, dependent clauses, commas, phrases, transitive and intransitive verbs, etc.) -no specific grade level but lessons can be used for many grade levels.
Education World Language Arts Subject Center
Lesson plans, worksheets, professional development, etc.
Getty.edu
Written by an elementary teacher from the LA area; lessons designed to meet California content standards for English-language and Visual Arts
National Council of Teachers of English
K-12; can limit by Elementary, Middle, and Secondary.
Read Write Think
K-12; can search by theme, learning objective, grade level, or resource type.
ReadWorks.org
Research proven lessons, units, etc., aligned to Common Core State Standards and standards in all 50 states.
Scholastic
K-8; lesson plans, common-core resources, student activities, etc.

This section is a collection of online, free books lists for students, teachers, librarians, etc. For a more extensive list of award winning titles please visit the Juvenile Literature Guide.

Outstanding Books for the College Bound by Angela Carstensen; Young Adult Library Services Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Online Access
ISBN: 9780838985700
Publication Date: 2011-05-27
Connecting teens to books they'll truly enjoy is the aim of every young adult librarian, and the completely revamped guide Outstanding Books for the College Bound will give teen services staff the leg up they need to make it happen. Listing nearly 200 books deemed outstanding for the college bound by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), this indispensable resource Examines how the previous lists in the series were developed, and explains the book's new layout Features engaging, helpful book descriptions useful for readers' advisory Offers programming tips and other ideas for ways the lists can be used at schools and public libraries Includes indexes searchable by topic, year, title, and authorMore than simply a vital collection development tool, this book can help librarians help young adults grow into the kind of independent readers and thinkers who will flourish at college.

Teen Book Finder Database
YALSA (Young Adult Literacy Services Association) is a division of ALA (American Library Association). Use this database to search 4,000+ books, audiobooks and films from YALSA's book awards and book lists.
YALSA's Teen Book Finder App
YALSA's Teen Book Finder is a free online database and app to help teens, parents, librarians and library staff, educators, and anyone who loves YA literature access nearly 4,000 titles recognized YALSA's awards and lists on their smartphone. Follow the link to download the app on your start device.
Choices Reading Lists (International Reading Association)
Three lists of recommended books are developed each year by the International Reading Association: Children's Choices, Teacher's Choices, and Young Adult's Choices. Books published in the prior year are considered for inclusion.

California Association of Teachers of English
"Promoting communication, collaboration, and educational knowledge among all responsible for teaching English and the language arts."
California Reading and Literature Project
...'a collaborative, statewide network of classroom teachers and university scholars that provides quality, standards-based professional development in language and literacy instruction to ensure that every student is academically prepared to finish high school ready for college and career.'
California Reading and Literature Project: Sacramento
'...provide high quality, standards-based professional development in Reading and Language-Arts instruction to help ensure that every California student K-12 achieves the highest standards of academic performance.'
California Reading Association
...'professional organization of educators who are actively involved in all aspects of reading and language arts education, from kindergarten through university levels.'
National Novel Writing Month
A writing event that takes place every November - the challenge is to write an entire novel in 30 days. Lesson plans for pre-writing to publishing - K-12.
Random House Teachers and Librarians
Thematic guides, book guides, interactive 'white boards', book talks, etc.
Reading is Fundamental: Literacy Resources
Activities, articles, multicultural resources.
Sacramento Public Library
Programming for children and teens, includes the Summer Reading Program, Accelerated Reader Bookfinder, Storytimes etc.
Web English Teacher
Reading, writing, drama, journalism, mythology, speech, etc.

Finding Books & Lesson Plans through OneSearch

Lesson plans can be found using the advanced search feature on OneSearch; follow the steps below:

Follow the OneSearch link above and enter a keyword such as language arts or reading in the first box and the word curriculum in the second box. Then click on search.

Using the "Filter My Results" menu, filter the results by Location by clicking on the carrot.

Then select the locations: 2 SOUTH Curric Guides and 2 SOUTH Curric Texts.

Don't forget to click on "Apply Filters" to trigger the change.

Browsing the shelves

Method books explain various teaching strategies; think of them as "how to" books for teachers. Many contain lesson plans that illustrate the recommended teaching strategies. Method books are listed in Onesearch and typically have a subject heading added such as language arts -- study and teaching (primary) or reading -- study and teaching (secondary). Most method books for teaching foreign language are easily browsed on the 3rd floor in the call number area:

LB 1631 Language arts teaching (secondary) including writing, literature, grammar, etc.

LB 1632 Reading (secondary)d

LB 1576 Language arts (elementary)

LB 1573 Reading (elementary)

Last Updated: Dec 2, 2024 11:01 AM

K-12 Resources for Teachers

State Framework, Standards, Curriculum and Instruction Information

Google Scholar

University Library Resources

Online Resources

Finding Books & Lesson Plans through OneSearch

Browsing the shelves