Skip to Main Content

Citing Government/Legal Information

Contents

The types of publications are in the following order below.

Executive Agencies

Laws & the Constitution

Congressional Bills

Congressional Publications

Regulations

Court Cases

Databases

Executive Agencies

Individual Author(s)
Note:
7. U.S. Department of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey, Forecasting selenium discharges to the San Francisco
Bay-Delta Estuary: ecological effects of a proposed San Luis drain extension
, by Theresa S. Presser and Samuel N.
Luoma, Professional Paper No 1646, (Denver, Colorado, 2006), 116, https://pubs.usgs.gov/pp/p1646/pdf/pp1646.pdf.

Bibliographic Entry:
U.S. Department of the Interior. U.S. Geological Survey. Forecasting selenium discharges to the San Francisco Bay-
       Delta Estuary: ecological effects of a proposed San Luis drain extension
, by Theresa S. Presser and Samuel N.
       Luoma, Professional Paper No 1646. Denver, Colorado, 2006, https://pubs.usgs.gov/pp/p646/pdf/pp1646.pdf.


Agency

Note: 
5. U.S. Department of Commerce, U.S. Census Bureau, Voting and Registration in the Election of November 2016,
(Washington, DC 2017), Table 2 All Races, https://www.census.gov/data/tables/time-series/demo/voting-and-
registration/p20-580.html.

Bibliographic Entry:
U.S. Department of Commerce. U.S. Census Bureau. Voting and Registration in the Election of November 2016.
      Washington, DC, 2017. https://www.census.gov/data/tables/time-series/demo/voting-and-registration/
       p20-580.html.

Laws & the Constitution

United States Code (Current laws arranged by subject)
Note:
12. Rehabilitation Act of 1973, U.S.C. 29 (2016), http://www.lnctips.com/images/sectiongray.png 794.
[You can use sec. or the section symbol http://www.lnctips.com/images/sectiongray.png in place of section]

Bibliographic Entry:
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, U.S.C. 29 (2016), http://www.lnctips.com/images/sectiongray.png794.  https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=%2229+U.S.C.
          ++794%22&f=treesort&fq=true&num=7&hl=true&edition=prelim&granuleId=USC-prelim-title29-section794.
        

Statutes at Large (Chronological arrangement of laws)
Note:
65. Federal Ocean Acidification Research and Monitoring Act of 2009, Public Law 111-11, U.S. Statutes at Large 123 (2009): 1436. https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/STATUTE-123/pdf/STATUTE-123.pdf.

Bibliographic Entry:
Federal Ocean Acidification Research and Monitoring Act of 2009, Public Law 111-11, U.S. Statutes at Large
        123 (2009): 1436. https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/STATUTE-123/pdf/STATUTE-123.pdf.


U.S. Constitution

Note:
100. U.S. Constitution, amend. 2. or U.S. Constitution, art. 2.
87. U.S. Constitution, art. 1, sec. 9, cl. 3. 

Bibliographic Entry:
U.S. Constitution, amend. 2. or U.S. Constitution, art. 2.
U.S. Constitution, art. 1, sec. 9, cl. 3. 

Congressional Bills

Note:
14.  U.S. Congress, House, National Global Warming Policy Act of 1989, HR 1078, 101st Cong., 1st sess.,
introduced in House February 22, 1989, https://www.congress.gov/bill/101st-congress/house-bill/1078?
s=1&r=26#:~:text=Global%20Warming%20Prevention%20Act%20of%201989%20%2D%20Establishes%
20as%20national%20goals,International%20Global%20Agreement%20on%20the.
     
Bibliographic Entry:
U.S. Congress. House. National Global Warming Policy Act of 1989. HR 1078. 101st Cong., 1st sess., Introduced
        in House February 22, 1989. https://www.congress.gov/bill/101st-congress/house-bill/1078?s=1&r=26#:~:text=
        Global%20Warming%20Prevention%20Act%20of%201989%20%2D%20Establishes%20as%20national%
        20goals,International%20Global%20Agreement%20on%20the.

Congressional Publications

Congressional Publications mainly consist of hearings, House & Senate Reports & Documents, & committee prints. Congress bound the paper versions of Reports & Documents in the U.S. Serial Set. The Congressional Record & its predecessors furnish the Congressional proceedings, debates, material inserted by Congresspersons, & information about bills.

Hearing
Note:
30. U.S. Congress, Senate, Committee on Foreign Relations, Reexamination of U.S.-China relations:
hearings before the Subcommittee on East Asian and Pacific Affairs
, 106th Cong., 1st sess., March 23,
July 1, and 21, 1999, 15-20. U.S. Congressional Documents- HeinOnline.org.

Bibliographic Entry:
U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Foreign Relations, Reexamination of U.S.-China relations: Hearings before
        the Subcommittee on East Asian and Pacific Affairs
, 106th Cong., 1st sess., March 23, July 1,
        and 21, 1999. U.S. Congressional Documents - HeinOnline.org.
 

Senate Report 
Note:
12. U.S. Congress, Senate, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, Countering Human
Trafficking Act of 2021: report of the Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, United States
Senate, to accompany S. 2991, to establish a Department of Homeland Security Center for Countering Human
Trafficking, and for other purposes
, 117th Cong., 2nd sess., February 4, 2022, S. Rep. 117-73, 3-4. https://www.
govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CRPT-117srpt73/pdf/CRPT-117srpt73.pdf.

Bibliographic Entry:
U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs. Countering Human
       Trafficking Act of 2021: report of the Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, United
       States Senate, to accompany S. 2991, to establish a Department of Homeland Security Center for
       Countering Human Trafficking, and for other purposes
. 117th Cong., 2nd sess., 2022. S. Rep. 117-73.
        https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CRPT-117srpt73/pdf/CRPT-117srpt73.pdf.

House Document
Note:
47. U.S. Congress, House, Santa Rosa and Santa Jacinto Mountains National Monument Act of 2000, 69th Cong., 2nd sess., 2000, H. Doc. 106-750, 6-9. https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CRPT-106hrpt750/pdf/CRPT-106hrpt750.pdf.

Bibliographic Entry:

U.S. Congress. House. Santa Rosa and Santa Jacinto Mountains National Monument Act of 2000, 69th Cong.,
       2nd sess., 2000, H. Doc. 106-750. https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CRPT-106hrpt750/pdf/
       CRPT-106hrpt750.pdf.


Serial Set

The government created the U.S. Serial Set in order to bind the paper House & Senate Reports & Documents into volumes. You can cite these publications using the format for citing the aforementioned Reports & Documents. if you do have a serial set number, add it after the House or Document number.

Note:
47. U.S. Congress, House, Mohave Desert region California: A Geographic, Geologic, and Hydrologic Reconnaissance, 69th Cong., 1st sess., 1926, H. Doc. 69-72, serial 8626, 27. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/details/SERIALSET-08626_00_00-002-0072-0000.

Bibliographic Entry:
U.S. Congress. House. Mohave Desert region California: A Geographic, Geologic, and Hydrologic
       Reconnaissance
. 69th Cong., 1st sess., 1926. H. Doc. 69-72. serial 8626. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/details/
       SERIALSET-08626_00_00-002-0072-0000.


Committee Print
Note:

22. U.S. Congress, Committee on Foreign Relations Senate and Committee on Foreign Affairs U.S. House of Representatives, Country Reports on Human Rights Practices for 2008, Volume 1, 111th Cong., 2nd sess., December 2010, S. Prt. 111-60, 367-375. https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CPRT-111JPRT62930/pdf/CPRT-111JPRT62930.pdf

Bibliographic Entry:
U.S. Congress. Committee on Foreign Relations Senate and Committee on Foreign Affairs U.S. House of
       Representatives. Country Reports on Human Rights Practices for 2008. Volume 1. 111th Cong.,
       2nd sess., December 2010. S. Prt. 111-60. https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CPRT-111JPRT62930
       /pdf/CPRT-111JPRT62930.pdf


Proceedings of Congress
(Annals of Congress [1789-1824]; Register of Debates in Congress; [1824-1837]; Congressional Globe [1833-1873]; Congressional Record [1873-present]. [Congress publishes a daily Congressional Record until it creates the final bound edition].

Congressional Record 

Bound Edition
Note:
10. Paperless Enrollment for School Meals Act of 2009, S 1226, 111th Cong., 1st sess., Congressional Record
155, pt.11: 14544-14545. 53. Senator Fullbright, Charge of treason, on February 16, 1954, 83rd Cong., 2nd sess.,
Congressional Record 100, pt 2: 1754.

Bibliographic Entry:
Paperless Enrollment for School Meals Act of 2009. S 1226. 111th Cong., 1st sess., Congressional Record
         155, pt. 11: 14544-14545. Senator Fullbright, Charge of treason. 83rd Cong., 2nd sess., Congressional
         Record
100, pt. 2: 1754.  

Daily Edition (Use if the bound edition isn't available yet).
Note:
22. Senator Schumer, speaking on Fox News, 118th Cong., 1st sess., Congressional Record 169 (March 7, 2023): S 659-660.

Bibliographic Entry:
Senator Schumer, speaking on Fox News, 118th Cong., 1st sess., Congressional Record 169: S 659-660.


House and Senate Journals

Note:
15.  U.S. Congress, Journal of the House of Representatives of the United States, 116th Cong., 2nd sess., January 7, 2020, 46. 

Bibliographic Entry:
U.S. Congress, Journal of the House of Representatives of the United States. 116th Cong., 2nd sess., January 7, 2020. 

Regulations

Code of Federal Regulations (Subject arrangement of rules & regulations)
Note:
39. “Recreation management procedures,” Code of Federal Regulations, title 43 (2014): 998,
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-2014-title43-vol2/pdf/CFR-2014-title43-vol2-sec9268-1.pdf.

Bibliographic Entry:
“Recreation management procedures.” Code of Federal Regulations, title 43 (2014): 998.
         https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-2014-title43-vol2/pdf/CFR-2014-title43-vol2-sec9268-1.pdf.
         
Federal Register (chronological arrangement of rules & regulations)
Note:
100. U.S. President, Proclamation, “Child Health Day – 1938,” Federal Register 3, no. 68 (April 7, 1938):
835, https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-1938-04-07/pdf/FR-1938-04-07.pdf.

Bibliographic Entry:
U.S. President. Proclamation. “Child Health Day – 1938.” Federal Register 3, no. 68 (April 7, 1938):
       835. https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-1938-04-07/pdf/FR-1938-04-07.pdf.

Court Cases

U.S. Supreme Court
Note:
35. Citizens United v. Federal Elections Commission, 558 U.S. 310 (2010).
35. Citizens United v. Federal Elections Commission, 130 S.Ct. 876 (2010).

Bibliographic Entry:
Citizens United v Federal Elections Commission. 558 U.S. 50 (2009).
Citizens United v. Federal Elections Commission. 130 S.Ct. 876 (2010).
[The U.S. Government Publishing Office publishes United States Reports, Supreme Court decisions abbreviated as U.S.; WESTLAW, our legal database version, titles its Supreme Court decisions as Supreme Court Reporter, abbreviated as S.Ct.]

 

Court Briefs (Supreme Court)
Note:
19. Brief for Citizens United v Federal Elections Commission, 558 U.S. 50 (2009).

Bibliographic Entry List:
Brief for Citizens United. v. Federal Elections Commission. 130 S.Ct. 876 (2009) (no 08-205). 
[If the unique Westlaw number exists include it; in this case there is none]


U.S. Court of Appeals
Note:
19. Human Life of Washington v. Brumsickle, 624 F.3d 990, 994 (9th Cir. 2010).

Bibliographic Entry:
Human Life of Washington v. Brumsickle. 624 F.3d 990 (9th Cir. 2010).
 

U.S. District Court
Note:
35. Michigan Chamber of Commerce v. Terri Lynn Land, 725 F.Supp.2d 665, 670 (W.D. Michigan, S.D. 2010).

Bibliographic Entry:
Michigan Chamber of Commerce v. Terri Lynn Land. 725 F.Supp.2d 665 (W.D. Michigan, S.D. 2010).

Databases

NOTE:
105. “Unemployment Rate - Job Losers (U-2),” FRED.stlouis.org, accessed August 30, 2023, https://fred.stlouisfed.org/series/U2RATE

BIBLIOGRAPHIC ENTRY:
“Unemployment Rate - Job Losers (U-2).” FRED.stlouis.org, accessed August 30, 2023, https://fred.stlouisfed.org/series/U2RATE

Last Updated: Jun 12, 2024 11:06 AM