Skip to Main Content

Citing Government/Legal Information

Contents

The types of publications are in the following order below.

Executive Agencies

Laws & Constitution

Bills 

Legislature

Regulations

Court Cases

Databases

Executive Agencies

Individual Author(s)

Note:
7. California, Department of Conservation, California Geological Survey, Mineral land classification of the Wilson Ranch-Walltown
Quarry site, Sacramento County, California, for construction aggregate
, by Charles P. Clinkenbeard, Special report California
Geological Survey 214, (Sacramento, California, 2010) 7-8.

Bibliographic Entry:
California. Department of Conservation. California Geological Survey. Mineral land classification of the Wilson Ranch-Walltown
      Quarry site, Sacramento County, California, for construction aggregate
. By Charles P. Clinkenbeard. Special report California
      Geological Survey 214. (Sacramento, California, 2010).


Agency

Note:
5. California Task Force to Study and Develop Reparation Proposals for African Americans, Final Report, (2023), 458-64, oag.ca.gov/system/files/media/full-ca-reparations.pdf.

Bibliographic Entry:
California Task Force to Study and Develop Reparation Proposals for African Americans. Final Report. (2023). oag.ca.gov/system/files/media
      /full-ca-reparations.pdf.

Laws & Constitution

California Code
Note:
12. Of Crimes Against the Peace, 11 Pen. (2015) § 405a, https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?
sectionNum=405A.&lawCode=PEN.
 

Bibliographic Entry: 
Of Crimes Against the Peace, 11 Pen. (2015) § 405a. https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?
       sectionNum=405A.&lawCode=PEN.

[Citations use abbreviations for code names. E.g. Pen. is an abbreviation for the Penal Code; use the symbol (§) or sec. for section] Code names and abbreviations are available at: https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtm]

 

Statutes of California
Note:  
35. Act relating to the intoxication of officers, 1880 Cal. Stats. (1880): 77, https://clerk.assembly.ca.gov/sites/clerk.assembly.ca.
gov/files/archive/Statutes/1880/1880.PDF.

Bibliographic Entry: 
Act relating to the intoxication of officers, 1880 Cal. Stats. (1880): 77. https://clerk.assembly.ca.gov/sites/clerk.assembly.ca.
       gov/files/archive/Statutes/1880/1880.PDF.



Constitution 
Note:

87. California Constitution, art. XIII C, sec. 2(b). 

Bibliographic Entry: 
California Constitution, art. XIII C, sec. 2(b). 

Bills

Note: 
14. California, Assembly. Nursing: schools and programs: exemptions, AB 1364 (2019), introduced in the Assembly February 18, 2022, leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200AB1364.

Bibliographic Entry:
California. Assembly, Nursing: schools and programs: exemptions, AB 1364 (2019). Introduced in the Assembly February 18, 2022.,
       leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200AB1364.  

[The California chambers are the Assembly and the Senate

Legislature

Note:  
56. California, Senate, Senate Select Committee on Prison Management, Hearing, California State Prison, Corcoran: Department of Corrections' and the California Attorney General's efforts to investigate incidents of staff brutality of inmates, July 28-30, 1998, v. 2, 20-33.

Bibliographic Entry:
California. Senate. Senate Select Committee on Prison Management. Hearing, California State Prison, Corcoran: Department of Corrections' and the
       California Attorney General's efforts to investigate incidents of staff brutality of inmates
, July 28-30, 1998.
    

Regulations

California Code of Regulations
Note:  
39. “Identification of Wastes to Be Evaluated,” California Code of Regulations, title 22 (1988): § 66268.10,

Bibliographic Entry:

“Identification of Wastes to Be Evaluated,” California Code of Regulations, title 22 (1988): § 6626
[Use the symbol (§) or sec. for section]


California Regulatory Notice Register

Note:  
100. Department of Fair Employment and Housing, “Regulations regarding definitions; intentional discrimination; discriminatory advertisements, statements and notices; considerations of income; real estate-relate practices; and disability estate-relate practices; and disability, California Regulatory Notice Register 32-z (August 7, 2020): 1113, https://oal.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/166/2020/08/2020-Notice-Register-
Number-32-Z-August-7-2020.pdf.

Bibliographic Entry:
Department of Fair Employment and Housing. “Regulations regarding definitions; intentional discrimination; discriminatory advertisements,
         statements and notices; considerations of income; real estate-relate practices; and disability estate-relate practices; and disability. California
         Regulatory Notice Register
32-z (August 7, 2020): 1113. https://oal.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/166/2020/08/2020-Notice-Register-
         Number-32-Z-August-7-2020.pdf.

Court Cases

California only makes available precedent setting appeals court decisions (Supreme Court and Court of Appeals). The first level cases are superior court. To obtain a decision and/or court transcripts, you need to contact the county of the court and request from the court clerk for which they will charge for.

Supreme Court
Note:  
87. In the Matter of Archy, Habeas Corpus, 9 Cal. 147, 158 (1857).  

Bibliographic Entry:
In the Matter of Archy, Habeas Corpus. 9 Cal. 147 (1857). 
          

Court of Appeals
Note:
33. Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Assn. v. City of San Diego, 120 Cal.App.4th 374, 461-463 (2004).
 

Bibliography Entry:
Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Assn. v. City of San Diego, 120 Cal.App.4th 374 (2004).
 

Databases

Note:
105. “Stand Against Hate Action Day: S.C.R.15 — Legislature (2023-2024),” Leginfo.legislature.ca.gov, accessed July 25, 2023, 
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billAnalysisClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240SCR15

Bibliographic Entry:

“Stand Against Hate Action Day: S.C.R.15— Legislature (2023-2024).” Leginfo.legislature.ca.gov, accessed July 25, 2023,
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billAnalysisClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240SCR15

Last Updated: Jun 12, 2024 11:06 AM