General ReferenceDictionariesEncyclopediasBibliographies/Indexes
Government DocumentsNewspapers & PeriodicalsArchival/Manuscript CollectionsDigital Collections
This is the "Articles & Databases" page of the "Modern Greek Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Modern Greek Studies   Tags: cyprus, greece, greek, greek, hellenic, modern, studies, studies  

Guide to interdisciplinary research in Modern Greek Studies.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/moderngreekstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Hints

1. To find a specific print or e-journal by title or ISSN, search the Journal Titles List.


2. When you already know the article author, title, journal, issue, etc., and just need to find the full-text (if available), try the Article Citation Linker!


3. To improve your database search results try using the truncation symbol, often an asterisk "*". So searching photo* will simultaneously search photo, photos, photography, photographic, etc.

      

    Google Scholar



    Off-campus Access

    Off-campus access is available to all current CSUS students, faculty, and staff to many Library electronic resources.

    Connecting to electronic resources from off-campus may require authentication with SacLink User ID and password. Full instructions are here. 

        

      Article Databases

      Because of the interdisciplinary nature of Modern Greek studies, no single database can retrieve sufficient results for every subject area. Below is a selected list of relevant article databases in the social sciences and humanities that will be helpful for Modern Greek studies research.

      • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
        Extensive multidisciplinary article database. A great place to start.
      • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
        Coverage: 1964-. Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Full-texts links within EBSCO and to JSTOR articles. Useful for research on Greek Americans and Greek Canadians. Use in conjunction with Historical Abstracts.
      • Anthropology Plus
        This is the comprehensive Anthropology index which combines the holdings of Anthropological Index and the Anthropological Literature databases. This database covers the anthropological literature (articles, reports, commentaries) from the 19th century to the present.
      • ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)
        Coverage: 1818-. Covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Contains over 1 million records.
      • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
        Coverage: 1991-. Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. Updated monthly.
      • Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)  
          
        Coverage: 1861-. The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. Full text available for most of the dissertations added since 1997. The Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection holds nearly 400 dissertations on microfilm.
      • EconLit (EBSCO)
        Coverage: 1969-. Indexes and abstracts more than 450 international economic journals and other resources in economics and related areas with selected links to full-text articles.
      • Gale Literary Databases (Gale)
        Includes Contemporary Authors,Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Individual databases may be searched together or separately.
      • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
        Historical Abstracts indexes and provides abstracts of over 2,100 journals, including key historical journals from virtually every major country. Spans world history excluding the United States to 1450.
      • JSTOR
        Growing electronic archive of core scholarly journals in numerous disciplines, with emphasis on the social sciences and humanities.
      • MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
        Coverage: 1884-. MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
      • ProjectMuse: Scholarly Journals On-line
        Collection of some 250 full-text journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers in the areas of the humanities, social sciences and the arts. Includes full-text coverage of the core Journal of Modern Greek Studies from v. 1, 1983-.
      • Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
        Coverage: 1952-. Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1650 journals and other serials publications as well as conference papers, books, and dissertations. 640,000+ records.
      • Ethniko Archeio Didaktorikōn Diatrivōn
        Currently the database contains more than 18,000 records including full-text dissertations since 1985 and 5% of dissertations from the years 1932–1985, encompassing 80% of the
        total dissertation production in Greece.

      Curator, Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection

      Profile Image
      George I. Paganelis
      Contact Info
      University Library, #3025 & #1511
      California State University, Sacramento
      2000 State University Drive East
      Sacramento, CA 95819-6039
      Phone: (916) 278-4361
      Fax: (916) 278-5917
      Send Email
       

      California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip