Use this guide as a starting point for research on the interdisciplinary areas that collectively make up the field of Classical studies, the including mythology, religion, history, art and archaeology, literature, etc of ancient Greece and Rome. The University Library's general stacks and the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection together have an array of resources available to meet your research needs. Feel free to contact me by e-mail or phone for further assistance or to make an appointment for a research consultation.
Note: Throughout this guide, all links open in new windows.
About the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection
For more information about the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection, visit the Collection's Web site; for an in-depth profile, see my article "The Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection at California
State University, Sacramento: A Beacon of Hellenism in the Western
United States," Journal of Modern Greek Studies 26:1 (2008) 19-27.
With the exception of the rare and media materials, the Collection is housed in a separate, named area on the third floor of the University Library and is accessible the same hours as the main library building. Rare and archival materials are located in the Department of Special Collections and University Archives and media materials in the Library Media Center, which have more limited hours.
Materials in the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection have several designated locations (click on thumbnail images for larger maps):
|3 North Tsakopoulos|
|3 North Tsakopoulos Oversize|
|3 North Tsakopoulos Juvenile|
|Special Collections and University Archives (1 South)
|Library Media Center (1 South)|
Curator, Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection