Academic Research

A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics - consumer goods, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest - and provides exportable data and facts from a wide range of sources.

Provides a wealth of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States. The database includes 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets) and is both searchable and browsable. Coverage: 2013 - current year

Formerly ProQuest Newsstand, this database enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

Includes current and historic full-text articles in text and/or image form as well as full-page views of each issue of the Sacramento Bee.
Coverage: 1857 - today

To access cover-to-cover images of recent issues of the Sacramento Bee daily newspaper in a browsable format click here.
Coverage: November 7, 2017 - today

This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in social sciences, humanities, science, education, and most areas of academic study.

CQ Researcher, providing balanced research about current controversial issues of public interest, with full text articles from November 1991 to the present

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other research materials covering wide range of disciplines that can be searched and read online.

This is a collection more than 134 language and subject dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. Together they cover a wide range of fields including Architecture, Biology, Business, classics, Computing, Environmental Science, Economics, English Language, Food and Nutrition, History, Law, Literature, Mathematics, Medicine, Military Science, Language, Folklore, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political science, Religion, and Social Science. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the award-winning Core Collection.