Select items

For instructors

Teaching Comparative Politics Resource Collection
This collection contains Course design, student feedback and engagement, course content, and assignments and activities.
APSA Educate is an online library for political science teaching and learning materials. All materials on Educate are open resources and available without charge (statement from the web page).
Introduction to Comparative Politics (Prof. Chappell Lawson)
CC BY-NC-SA Fall 2020

more... less...

This course examines why democracy emerges and survives in some countries rather than in others; how political institutions affect economic development; and how American politics compares to that of other countries. It reviews economic, cultural, and institutional explanations for political outcomes. It also includes case studies of politics in several countries. Assignments include several papers of varying lengths and extensive structured and unstructured class participation.
Introduction to Government and Comparative Politics – Undergraduate Syllabus (Niva Golan-Nadir)
CC BY NC ND 2021

more... less...

The course examines core topics and research methods in Government and Comparative Politics. The topics include theories of democracy, development, historical evaluation of the state, nationality and ethnicity, the dynamics of regime change, study of institutions, bottom-up (civil society) versus top-down (elites) processes, and the challenges globalization imposes upon the nation-state. Examples brought from different regions of the world and different periods in history will give the students a basis for comparative analysis.
Introduction to International Relations (Dr. Charlotte Lee, et al. )
CC BY-NC Updated Nov 21, 2020

more... less...

An introduction to international relations theory with an examination of national, international, transnational, and sub-national actors and their institutions, interactions and processes as they relate to global issues. T
Introduction to International Relations Course Modules
BY-NC-SA Date Added: 12/09/2019
Course modules / lesson plans. Intended for community college students.
Introduction to International Relations ( Prof. Richard Nielsen)
CC-BY-NC Spring 2023 for undergraduate

more... less...

This course provides an introduction to the causes of international conflict and cooperation. Topics include war initiation, crisis bargaining, international terrorism, nuclear strategy, interstate economic relations, economic growth, international law, human rights, and environmental politics.
International Relations Syllabus, United Nations Simulation and Rubric (Dr. Xiaoye She)
CC BY 2020
Intended for an upper-division survey course

Text books / Databases

A Casebook for Comparative Politics [Edited by Mark L. Johnson, et al.]
CC BY-NC 2025

more... less...

A companion casebook for lower division/undergraduate courses in Comparative Government and Intro to Political Science. Each chapter covers an individual case study country, with emphasis on key concepts commonly covered in the intro-level Political Science curriculum.
The Arab Spring of Discontent : a collection from e-International Relations
CC BY-NC 2011
Comparative Politics: A Practical Guide for a Globalizing World [Dr. Holly Oberle]
CC BY-NC 2024

more... less...

Written with an emphasis on case studies from the Global South and other alternative perspectives in comparative politics, this text focuses on themes and case studies that are often missing in more traditional comparative politics textbooks, and thus is best accompanied by other resources to give students a foundation in the fundamentals.
Conflict and Diplomacy in the Middle East: External Actors and Regional Rivalries [Dr. Yannis Stivachtis ]
CC BY-NC 2018

more... less...

After employing the Regional Security Complex Theory (RSCT) in order to define and delimit the region of the Middle East, individual chapters are dedicated to addressing the question of regional order, examining how regionalism and globalism feature in Middle Eastern integration processes, exploring regional bids for hegemony, and investigating the approaches and policies of major international actors, such as the United States, Russia China, the European Union and the United Nations.
Conflict, War and Revolution: the problem of politics in international political thought [Prof. Paul Kelly]
CC BY 2022

more... less...

This book is primarily intended for second year and upwards undergraduate students in general political theory and international theory, and advanced international relations students.
Cultural Crossroads in the Middle East [Dr. Vladimir Sazonov, et al. editors]
CC BY-NC-ND 2020

more... less...

This book focuses on multiple topics related to the Middle East, including ancient history, the religion and mythology of the Ancient Near Eastern regions, Arabic, Persian and Islamic studies, Persian, Turkish and Arab literature, as well as modern Middle Eastern issues related to politics, security, society and the economy. T
Current and Emerging Trends in the Management of International Disasters [Annette Chretien, PhD, et al]
CC BY-NC-SA 2024
Adoption form for instructors is on site if they are using the book for a course.

more... less...

In the context of a local emergency having global implications, using a phrase like “all disasters are local, until they are not” takes on a specific meaning suggesting that with most disasters it is only a matter of time until we determine how local emergencies have global effects… The book is the culmination of a significant effort that has resulted in a deliverable reflecting what exists in terms of the state of the art in international emergency management. (excerpt from the book's foreword)
Human Security in World Affairs [Dr. Alexander Lautensach]
CC BY-NC-SA 2020
Intended for senior undergraduate level up

more... less...

This is an introductory text from senior undergraduate level up and includes chapters by 24 authors, from BC, Canada, and around the globe, that encompass the full spectrum of disciplines contributing to the human security field. It is based on the four pillar model of socio-political security, economic security, environmental security and health security. The chapters include learning outcomes, extension activities, and suggested readings; a comprehensive glossary lists key terms used throughout the book.
International Relations Theory [Edited by Dr. Stephen McGlinchey, Dr. Rosie Walters and Christian Scheinpflug.]
CC BY-NC 2017

more... less...

This book is designed as a foundational entry point to International Relations (IR) theory. As a beginner’s guide, it has been structured to condense the most important information into the smallest space and present that
information in the most accessible manner in order to introduce this area of study in a fresh way.
International Relations [Dr. Stephen McGlinchey, et al]
CC BY-NC 2017
This book is now archived in place of a much expanded new version published in partnership with Bloomsbury Academic ( see the next title "Foundations of International Relations /Dr.Stephen McGlinchey, et al. 2022)
Foundations of International Relations [Dr.Stephen McGlinchey, et al.]
2022
E-International Relations is unable to offer a free-to-download version of the full book. But it has curated an extensive online area with free multimedia resources to accompany each chapter of the book. Instructor resources, including Powerpoints, essay questions and a multiple choice question bank for each chapter are available from Bloomsbury.
A complete version of an earlier edition of this book from 2017 is available. Please check International Relations [Dr. Stephen McGlinchey, et al] in the list.
Introduction to Comparative Government and Politics - 1st edition [Dr. Dino Bozonelos, Dr. Julia Wendt, Dr. Charlotte Lee]
CC BY-NC 2022

more... less...

The textbook is organized thematically and includes chapters that cover a wide range of topics in comparative politics: how and what comparativists study; methods in comparative politics;
On Civic Republicanism: Ancient Lessons for Global Politics [edited by Dr. Geoffrey C. Kellow and dr. Neven Leddy]
CC BY-NC-ND 2016
On Global Citizenship (Dr. Tully, James )
CC BY-NC-ND 2014

more... less...

On Global Citizenship develops James Tully's distinctive and influential approach to political philosophy, first outlined in his 2008 two-volume work Public Philosophy in a New Key, and applies it to the field of citizenship. The second part of the book contains responses from influential interlocutors including Bonnie Honig and Marc Stears, David Owen and Adam Dunn, Aletta Norval, Antony Laden, and Duncan Bell.
Political Database of the Americas
PDBA is a non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University in collaboration with institutions like the Secretariat for Political Affairs of the Organization of American States and FLACSO-Chile, and also with the support of other organizations and entities in the region. Through its website, the PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.

Check the Copyright and User Information at https://pdba.georgetown.edu/copyright.html

A Short Introduction to World Politics (Lawrence Meacham)
CC BY-NC-ND 2023

more... less...

With 130 pages, the brief introduction covers various aspects of world politics, including modern world system, images and theories of world politics, foreign policy, non-state actors, world economy, global north and south, globalization, war and international security, military power, paths to peace, and human rights...
Understanding Global Politics [Kevin Bloor]
CC BY-NC 2022
The book is based on a popular A-Level Politics course, taken by students typically aged 16–18 in the UK’s national curriculum system

Last Updated: Jun 24, 2025 1:58 PM

OER - Open Educational Resources for Political Science

Select items

Text books / Databases