Research Guides: Geol 140 Environmental Geology: Journal Articles

First-- Pick a Subject Category

Begin with the Databases link from the Library homepage. Watch this slide show to learn how.

Possible subjects include:

Or, if you know the database you want to search go to A-Z title listing of databases.

Then--Pick the Database

GeoRef (Geology)
THE geology database

Here is a very small subset of the databases available to you. Based on your assigned topics, here are some suggestions:

Engineering Village(Ei)
Engineering Village 2 is the home of Compendex; the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available.
Coverage: 1969-present

Biological Abstracts
This citation database provides users with easy access to the latest information in virtually every life science discipline, e.g. botany, microbiology, genetics, pharmacology, fishes, mammalogy, soils, etc.
Coverage: 1969-present
Citation Database

PubMed (biology, health)
Contains citations, with abstracts, to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
Coverage: 1950-present
Environment Index
Environment Index offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Coverage: 1940's-present
WestLaw
Legal research database that contains case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, and legal forms. Also includes newspaper and magazine articles.
Academic Search Complete
A general database that crosses all disciplines.
Coverage: 1975-present

CQ Researcher (CQ Press)
Great place to begin research--an article from CQ Researcher, although not a primary article, has a useful overview of the topic, especially for controversial ones.

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database that covers sciences (2009--) social sciences (1999--), arts and humanities (2009). Provides references and links to full text.

Finding the actual article

Finding The Article (Online or Print)
Explains the steps to find an article online (full text) or in print when you are in a database, or have a citation.

Many of the databases will only provide you with a citation. To retrieve the full text of an article from within most databases, use the
Find It @SacState link, which can usually be found at the end of a database record summary.

Using Google Scholar to access Journal Articles
Set up correctly, you can use Google Scholar to access articles online. These instructions show you how to set up your computer to make it work.

Hints

Truncation and Boolean Operators
Short Video from Walden University explains simple tricks to improve search results
CRAAP Test
Simple list to help you determine if the resource is a good one for you.

Last Updated: Oct 22, 2024 2:36 PM