Research Guides: Chemistry: Databases & Links

Building Hours	9am – 5pm
Research Help Desk	Email/Chat Available
Gerth Special Collections & University Archives	Closed
Stinger Studio Makerspace	Closed

Recommended Databases

American Chemical Society Publications (ACS)
ACS: American Chemical Society. Complete archive of all ACS titles, including the Journal of the American Chemical Society. Full text limited to 20 recent titles. Coverage 1987-present.
PubMed (NCBI)
PubMed indexes worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Articles indexed from 5,663 journals and many serials and online books. Some full text. Subsets to PubMed Central (full text) and PubMed Health (for consumers). Coverage 1946- to present. Access: all. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Updated 8/14/14
SciFinder (Web edition, CAS)
Chemical Abstracts online. Indexes all chemical information in journals, patents, reports, conferences, dissertations, etc. Links to Sac State electronic subscriptions. Available only to those with a current SacLink account. Coverage 1907-present.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Science, health sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities citation indexes.

CAS Source Index (CASSI)
The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. Use this complimentary tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Ebook format - current year and prior 10 available online.
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Chemistry and Technology (1st electronic edition)
A 7 volume set of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds and pure substances originally published from 1926-1930. Converted to searchable electronic format by Knovel.
NIST Chemistry Webbook
Access to a variety of physical and chemical property data and reactions. Unavailable during government shutdowns.
Royal Society of Chemistry Interactive Periodic Table
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS
Free site organized by the National Institute of Advances Industrial Science and Technology (Japan)

Last Updated: Jan 29, 2025 8:25 AM