Journalism

The Mission of the Alliance for Community Media is to advance democratic ideals by ensuring that people have access to electronic media and by promoting effective communication through community uses of media.

Founded by newspaper publishers in 1946, the American Press Institute is the oldest and largest center devoted solely to training and professional development for the news industry and journalism educators.

The Center for Media and Democracy is an independent, non-profit, non-partisan, public interest organization.

iReport is a user-generated section of CNN.com. The stories here come from users. CNN has vetted only the stories marked with the "CNN" badge.

CyberJournalist.net is a news and resource site that focuses on how the Internet, convergence and new technologies are changing the media.

After each day that Congress is in session, the proceedings are printed in the Congressional Record (CR) and available the following morning.

A daily TV/radio news program, hosted by Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez, airing on over 800 stations, pioneering the largest community media collaboration in the U.S.

FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics.

The Freedom Forum, based in Washington, D.C., is a nonpartisan foundation that champions the First Amendment as a cornerstone of democracy.

Global Journalist magazine reports on the state of press freedom around the world, covers developments in international journalism and serves international journalists.

The Internet Archive works to preserve the published works of human kind. Inspired by Vanderbilt University’s Television News Archive project, the Internet Archive collects and preserves television news. Like library collections of books and newspapers, this accessible archive of TV news enables anyone to reference and compare statements from this influential medium. The collection now contains 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Older materials are also being added.

The Knight Digital Media Center was launched in April 2006 to focus on helping journalists succeed in the rapidly changing media landscape of the 21st Century. The Center is a partnership of the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles and the University of California at Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism.

A nonprofit site that offers criticism, interviews with journalists, etc. devoted to news reporting.

“News Participation showcases the work of lay and professional correspondents seeking an open forum for posting news dispatches and commentary.”

Poynter is a school that exists to ensure that our communities have access to excellent journalism—the kind of journalism that enables us to participate fully and effectively in our democracy.

A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Includes State of the News Media http://www.journalism.org/2016/06/15/state-of-the-news-media-2016/

Published by The Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism. Includes annual State of the News Media report, ethics guidelines from various news organizations worldwide, and much more.

A nonprofit organization dedicated to providing free legal assistance to journalists since 1970. Contains recent court decisions, legal news, etc.

Reporters Without Borders has fought for press freedom on a daily basis since it was founded in 1985.

"The world's best thinkers on social media."

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news

The UpTake is a citizen-fueled, online video news gathering organization. Established July 2007.

A wiki founded in 2006 to promote transparency in government activities.

An off-shoot of Wikipedia, anyone can contribute to Wikinews, and articles are written collaboratively for a global audience.

The YouTube Reporters' Center is a resource to help you learn more about how to report the news. It features some of the nation's top journalists and news organizations sharing instructional videos with tips and advice for better reporting.

Giving a Voice to Neighborhood News in Sacramento

The Business Journals are the premier media solutions platform for companies strategically targeting business decision makers.

Sacramento's second largest newspaper.

2100 Q St., Sacramento, CA 95816P.O. Box 15779, Sacramento, CA 95852(916) 321-1000Read more: http://www.sacbee.com/contact/#ixzz1QhifmAYm

The voice of Sacramento State since 1949

AIB provides information, networking and insight for the international broadcasting industry – cross media, cross border, cross cultural.

The American Society of News Editors, founded in 1922 as a nonprofit professional organization, focuses on leadership development and journalism-related issues. ASNE promotes fair, principled journalism, defends and protects First Amendment rights, and fights for freedom of information and open government. Leadership, innovation, diversity and inclusion in coverage and the journalism work force, youth journalism and the sharing of ideas are also key ASNE initiatives.

A nonprofit, educational association of journalism and mass communication educators, students and media professionals.

The Broadcast Education Association (BEA) is the professional association for professors, industry professionals and graduate students who are interested in teaching and research related to electronic media and multimedia enterprises.

The National Association of Broadcasters is the voice for the nation's radio and television broadcasters. As the premier trade association for broadcasters, NAB advances the interests of our members in federal government, industry and public affairs; improves the quality and profitability of broadcasting; encourages content and technology innovation; and spotlights the important and unique ways stations serve their communities.

Dedicated to the advancement of visual journalism, its creation, practice, training, editing and distribution, in all news media and works to promote its role as a vital public service.

RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization exclusively serving the electronic news profession, consisting of more than 3,000 news directors, news associates, educators and students.

The mission of the Society of Environmental Journalists is to strengthen the quality, reach and viability of journalism across all media to advance public understanding of environmental issues.

The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior.