Data | Tech Lab

Description: The Meta Database Engineer Professional Certificate is a comprehensive program designed to equip learners with the skills needed to become a database engineer. Offered by Meta, this course covers essential database concepts, SQL, NoSQL, database administration, and data modeling. It also provides hands-on projects and real-world applications, making it ideal for those looking to start or advance their careers in database management.
Key Aspects Covered:

• Fundamentals of databases: SQL, NoSQL, and data modeling
• Writing and optimizing SQL queries for data retrieval and manipulation
• Database design and administration best practices
• Managing large-scale databases and ensuring data integrity
• Hands-on projects using real-world data scenarios
• Introduction to cloud database solutions and security practices

Certification: A Professional Certificate is awarded upon completion.
Projects: Includes hands-on projects and assignments focused on real-world database engineering tasks.

Click here to access the course

Description: SQLBolt offers a free interactive tutorial series that helps you learn SQL through hands-on exercises. The Introduction to SELECT Queries lesson is a great starting point for beginners to understand how to retrieve data from a database using SQL's SELECT statement. This lesson teaches the syntax, basic filtering, and the concept of selecting specific columns and rows in a database. It's perfect for those new to SQL or data management who want to start with the basics and build a strong foundation.
Key Aspects Covered:

• Introduction to the SQL SELECT statement
• Basic syntax and selecting specific columns
• Filtering data with WHERE conditions
• Retrieving data from a single table
• Understanding and using logical operators in queries

Certification: No certification is provided.
Projects: Interactive exercises that allow you to practice SQL queries and apply the learned concepts.

Click here to access the course

Description:
This beginner-friendly course is designed to introduce SQL concepts specifically for data science applications. It covers fundamental SQL commands, data filtering, joins, and aggregation techniques while emphasizing real-world data analysis scenarios. By the end of the course, learners will be able to query databases efficiently, clean data, and perform exploratory data analysis using SQL.
Key Aspects Covered:

• Writing basic SQL queries to retrieve and manipulate data
• Using WHERE, GROUP BY, and HAVING for data filtering and aggregation
• Performing joins and combining data from multiple tables
• Understanding subqueries and window functions
• SQL best practices for data analysis

Certification: A certificate of completion is provided by Coursera.
Projects: Includes practical exercises and case studies related to data science.

Click here to access the course.

Description:
Offered by Harvard University as part of its renowned CS50 series, this course provides an in-depth introduction to databases and SQL. It covers database design, normalization, and querying using SQL, making it an excellent choice for those looking to understand SQL beyond just data retrieval. Learners will also work with PostgreSQL and apply their knowledge to build and manage databases.
Key Aspects Covered:

• Fundamentals of relational databases and SQL
• Creating and modifying databases using PostgreSQL
• Writing advanced queries, including joins and subqueries
• Database normalization and design principles
• Indexing and query optimization for performance

Certification: A certificate is available upon completion through edX.
Projects: Hands-on exercises involving database creation, query writing, and optimization.

Click here to access the course.

Description:
This beginner-level course introduces learners to the basics of SQL and relational databases. It covers core concepts such as data retrieval, filtering, and joins, making it an ideal starting point for those new to databases. The course also includes practical exercises to reinforce learning, ensuring that learners can apply SQL queries effectively in real-world scenarios.
Key Aspects Covered:

• Understanding relational database concepts
• Writing SQL queries using SELECT, WHERE, and ORDER BY
• Using joins to combine data from multiple tables
• Aggregating data with COUNT, SUM, AVG, and GROUP BY
• Basic database design principles

Certification: A certificate of completion is provided by Coursera.
Projects: Includes interactive exercises and quizzes to practice SQL skills.

Click here to access the course