Research Guides: ANTH 4: Language, Culture, and Critical Thinking (Flamenbaum): Databases for Scholarly and News Articles

Library Databases for Scholarly Journal Articles in Linguistic Anthropology

Scholarly journal articles provide in-depth research. You'll find articles ranging from phonology and morphology to articles that discuss topics like documentation, revitalization, reclamation, and more.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
JSTOR (All Subjects)
JSTOR is an independent not-for-profit organization which provides an electronic archive to specific scholarly journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the issues being published and the content becoming available in JSTOR. Artstor images also included.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Project Muse
Project Muse offers some 600 journal titles from 260 scholarly publishers including from the Johns Hopkins University Presss which began this project in 1995. The journals included in this database are in the areas of the humanities, social sciences and the arts.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in social sciences, humanities, science, education, and most areas of academic study.
Communication Source (EBSCO)
Communication Source is the most complete full-text research database for communication studies. It offers hundreds of top communication journals, magazines and other sources covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric and discourse.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1650 journals and other serials publications as well as conference papers, books, and dissertations. The database contains a total of 640,000 records. It is updated monthly and contains backfiles to 1963.

News Databases

The following databases contain California newspapers. Newspapers, particularly local news, may provide information about revitalization efforts, partnerships, and resources for learners trying to acquire or maintain the language.

California Newspapers (NewsBank)
Contains links to full text articles in 100+ California newspapers from both large cities (LA, SF, SD, Sacramento etc.) and smaller towns (Eureka, Ft. Bragg, Los Banos, etc.) throughout the state. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded
Ethnic Newswatch (ProQuest)
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. It includes both English and Spanish Language publications and you may search in Spanish or in English.

Theses & Dissertations

While theses and dissertations are not peer-reviewed in the sense that they through the peer review process that articles go through to get published in scholarly journals, they are wonderful sources of in-depth research. The following database contains theses and dissertations where you can search for your language and mine the bibliographies for sources of information about your language that you may not yet have discovered.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text - Part A: Humanities and Social Sciences (ProQuest)

Last Updated: Feb 20, 2024 12:15 PM