Research Guides: ANTH 192B/195B: Lab in Ethnographic Techniques/Fieldwork in Ethnology (Raschig): Databases

Databases for Scholarly Journal Articles

Depending on the focus of your research, you may be utilizing databases ranging from anthropology, sociology, education, women's and gender studies, and more. Below is a list of recommended databases, but is not comprehensive.

For more databases, visit the Databases A-Z link below.

Databases A-Z
Use the drop-down menu to limit databases by subject area based on your research focus.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in social sciences, humanities, science, education, and most areas of academic study.
Anthropology Plus
This is the comprehensive Anthropology index which combines the holdings of Anthropological Index and the Anthropological Literature databases. This database covers the anthropological literature (articles, reports, commentaries) from the 19th century to the present.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC.
Ethnic Diversity Source
This full-text database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
GenderWatch (ProQuest)
GenderWatch is a full text database comprised of periodicals and other publications that focus on how gender impacts on a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.
JSTOR (All Subjects)
JSTOR is an independent not-for-profit organization which provides an electronic archive to specific scholarly journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the issues being published and the content becoming available in JSTOR. Artstor images also included.
Project Muse
Project Muse offers some 600 journal titles from 260 scholarly publishers including from the Johns Hopkins University Presss which began this project in 1995. The journals included in this database are in the areas of the humanities, social sciences and the arts.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text online database for scientific, technical and medical information as well as information in the social sciences, business, and the arts and humanities. Access to over 2,200 journals and 26,000 books. Coverage 1823-present. Updated 8/14/14
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is one place to locate find scholarly articles, though best used for certain purposes due to the sheer amount of content. The videos linked below review how to link your SacLink account to Google Scholar so you can bypass paywalls in addition to how to conduct a cited reference search (i.e., seeing who has cited a specific published work, thereby finding newer research on a topic).

Linking Sac State to Google Scholar (Video)
How to set your Google Scholar settings to link to Sac State so you can bypass paywalls.
Cited Reference Searching in Google Scholar (Video)
Reviews how to locate sources that have cited a published work, which can help you identify more current sources related to the original published work.

Last Updated: Jul 9, 2024 2:20 PM