Research Guides: SWRK 210 Methods of Social Research: journal articles assignment: Encyclopedia of Social Work

Encyclopedia of Social Work

Encyclopedia of Social Work
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the Encyclopedia of Social Work contains over 700 articles offering overviews on a wide range of social work-related topics, written from both historical and current perspectives, and addressing issues of policy, theory, practice, etc. It provides a singular resource to review important concepts and to learn about the history and development of the social work profession. Each article is fully cross-referenced and contains a bibliography for further reading. New articles and revisions to existing articles are added regularly.

SEARCH by clicking the "Browse by Subject" link or putting search terms into the upper right box.

To find out if the Library has a specific JOURNAL ARTICLE for which you have a cited reference see this Locating Articles guide.

To find out if the Library has a specific BOOK or REPORT for which you have a cited reference go to OneSearch Advanced Search.

In the 1st search box, type the title of the book and to the left of the box, select Title from the pull down menu.

In the 2nd search box, type the last name of the author and to the left of the box, select Author from the pull down menu.

If available, OneSearch will provide the floor location and the call number of the book in the Library; for e-books a link will be provided.

If the Library does not have the book request a copy from InterLibrary Loan. It's free and fast.

Last Updated: Oct 10, 2025 12:18 PM