Research Guides: Communication Sciences and Disorders: Databases and Journal Literature

Search these Databases for articles

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text [Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature] covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Journal articles, books and chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, evidence-based care sheet and research Instruments are indexed from over 4,900 journals, and full text for over 760 titles. Coverage 1937- present.

PubMed (NCBI)
PubMed indexes worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Articles indexed from 5,663 journals and many serials and online books. Some full text.

The databases listed are recommended for locating articles about information on health and medicine, and education. See the Databases & Article Searching page Communication Sciences and Disorders for more database options.

Cochrane Library (Wiley)
The Cochrane Library is a collection systematic reviews that identify an intervention for a specific disease or other problem in health care, and determines whether or not this intervention works [evidence based articles]. Includes 6,048 reviews and 2,358 protocols.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains over 2 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, in the area of psychology and related fields dating back to 1840.
ERIC
From the U.S. Department of Education; ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966
Education Full Text
Full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education, with over 50 journals dedicated to this important topic, and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a full text online database for scientific, technical and medical information as well as information in the social sciences, business, and the arts and humanities. Access to over 2,200 journals and 26,000 books. Coverage 1823-present.

Top Journals for CSAD and Audiology

Listed below are important peer reviewed journals in the CSAD and Audiology disciplines. The University Library does not subscribe to all of them, but you can request any article from any journal through Interlibrary Loan. The journal links will take you to the journal homepage if the University Library does not have a subscription.

International Journal of Audiology

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology

Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools

Trends in Hearing

Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research

Topics in Language Disorders

American Journal of Audiology

Language and Speech

Journal of Communication Disorders

Trends in Hearing

Last Updated: Aug 8, 2025 10:49 AM