Research Guides: African American Politics: Books / sample reference titles

OneSearch and sample titles

► OneSearch is the library database for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. Try the following subject terms related to politics:

      " African Americans--Politics and government"
         "African Americans-- suffrage"
         "Black power -- United States"
         "Civil Rights"
         "Race relations"
    ==>> How to Use OneSearch? https://csus.libanswers.com/library-how-to/faq/332314

==>> How to find books on the shelf? https://csus.libguides.com/c.php?g=822870&p=5964180

► Ebook Databases

Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Includes almost 200,000 electronic books from major academic, scientific, technical, medical and professional publishers across a wide variety of subjects.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Provides access to almost 4,000 electronic books on a wide variety of subjects and also includes classic works of fiction, speeches, government reports, and other electronic texts.

The African American Almanac by Brigham Narins (Editor); Andrew P. Jackson (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0787640212
Publication Date: 2007-08-27
This book provides a range of historical and current information on African American history, society and culture and includes coverage of such topics as Africa and the African diaspora; film and television; landmarks; national organizations; population; religion; science and technology; sports; and more.
Behind the Mule: Race and Class in African-American Politics by Michael C. Dawson
ISBN: 0691212988
Publication Date: 2020-05-05
Political scientists and social choice theorists often assume that economic diversification within a group produces divergent political beliefs and behaviors. Michael Dawson demonstrates, however, that the growth of a black middle class has left race as the dominant influence on African- American politics.
Black Power Ideologies: an essay in African-American political thought by John Mccartney
ISBN: 1439903778
Publication Date: 2010-06-18
In a systematic survey of the manifestations and meaning of Black Power in America, John McCartney analyzes the ideology of the Black Power Movement in the 1960s and places it in the context of both African-American and Western political thought.
A Companion to African-American Philosophy by Tommy L. Lott (Editor); John P. Pittman (Editor)
ISBN: 1405145684
Publication Date: 2006-01-23
This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary collection of newly commissioned articles brings together distinguished voices in the field of Africana philosophy and African-American social and political thought.
A companion to African-American studies
ISBN: 9786610361946
A re-appraisal of the history and future of African American studies.
A Companion to African American History by Alton Hornsby (Editor); Alton Hornsby (Editor)
ISBN: 1405137355
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
A Companion to African American History is a collection of original and authoritative essays arranged thematically and topically, covering a wide range of subjects from the seventeenth century to the present day.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Colin A. Palmer; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 0028658167
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Comprehensive information about black history, figures and accomplishments.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
ISBN: 0195167791
Publication Date: 2009-02-02
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Patrick L. Mason
ISBN: 9780028661957
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.

Last Updated: Oct 16, 2024 12:37 PM