Research Guides: Salaries, Wages, & Labor Sources: Getting Started

Welcome

This guide will help you research salaries, wages, and labor issues. Click the tabs to find additional online and print resources.

If you need additional help with your research, I'm available for consultations just email, call, or chat with me!

Anne Bradley
bradleya@csus.edu
916-278-4350

National Level Resources

Access to Money Income in the United States
Available in print at 2 North Reference Ref HC 110 I5 A34 2003
Information on wealth, income, poverty, wages, etc. by age, sex, race, households, etc.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (U.S. Dept. of Labor)
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Business Statistics of the United States
Available in print at 2 North Reference HC 106.5 .S9 (annual)
About 3,000 data series on income, investments, wages, etc.
Current Employment Statistics
Survey of payroll records covers over 300,000 businesses on a monthly basis and provides detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on nonfarm payrolls for the Nation.
Employment, Hours, and Earnings, States and Areas
Available in print at 2 North Reference HD 5723 .B8
(1939-94 various years; 2005; 2009)
2005 edition is a special edition of the Handbook of U.S. labor statistics.
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and other Labor Data
Available in print at 2 North Reference HD 8064 .A15 (annual)
Tables with date on workers, industries, wages, and prices, etc.
Monthly Labor Review
Monthly publication that reports on employee compensation, including wages, salaries, benefits, and occupational injuries and illnesses. In addition, it contains a current statistical section on employer costs for employee compensation, employee benefits, and safety and health.
National Compensation Directory
Provides comprehensive measures of occupational earnings; compensation cost trends, benefit incidence, and detailed plan provisions.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Provides information on occupations, including average weekly and yearly income.
Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages
A quarterly count of employment and wages reported by employers covering 98 percent of U.S. jobs, available at the county, MSA, state and national levels by industry.
Salary Calculator
Compare the cost of living in hundreds of different cities, and find out what you would need to make if you changed cities.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Also available in print in 2 North Reference HA 202 (annual)
Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included.
Top Executive Compensation Report
Annual report of top executives in over 2,800 companies.
U.S. Census Bureau
Includes information of poverty, labor force, occupations, and income.
U.S. Department of Labor
The Department of Labor (DOL) fosters and promotes the welfare of the job seekers, wage earners, and retirees of the United States.

Other Ways To Get Help!

For immediate assistance, visit the 2nd floor Reference Desk or call 916-278-5673 during library open hours. Reference librarians will be there to help you!

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2024 4:44 PM