Artstor is database of millions of images with a suite of tools for teaching and research. Geared toward the visual arts, Artstor also has images from across the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. As of August 2024 all Artstor content has been moved to the JSTOR platform.
The local public library provides online access to several magazines and newspapers, including the Sacramento Bee back to 1857. Sign up for a free library card to access!
The Sacramento Room Digital Library features digital images of photographs, periodicals, ephemera, yearbooks and directories. Full and open access is provided to materials documenting the rich history of the Sacramento area.
Center for Sacramento History is the official archives for the city and county of Sacramento, with public records dating back to 1849. The online collections database provides access to the Center’s permanent collections and allows guests to send search results directly to any email address, place reproduction orders, and leave feedback for or ask questions to the Center’s staff.
Explore online collections and online exhibits to find many photographs, trademarks, and other original documents that reveal past events in the Golden State.
Calisphere Digital Repository provides free access to over one million unique and historically important photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.
The CHS Digital Library is an online archive of digitized primary sources from the CHS Collection. It represents the environmental, economic, social, political, and cultural heritage of the entire state, including materials from outside California that contribute to a greater understanding of the state and its people.
You can limit your results by "Geographic Location" after a search (look at menu on the left).
While more is available to card holders, there is plenty of accessible online information available by searching the catalog and looking for the "Available Online" option. Use the left menu to limit the results (i.e., images, maps, reports, etc.).
"In 1976, the California State Government passed AB 4239, establishing the Native American Heritage Commission (NAHC) as the primary government agency responsible for identifying and cataloging Native American cultural resources."
"The California Indian Heritage Center (CIHC) is envisioned to include space for exhibition, gathering, and park trails in West Sacramento, California. The new center will reflect the heritage and cultural traditions of California native people, support contemporary projects, and facilitate research and education."
