Research Guides: Medicine: Selected Resources: Finding Books

OneSearch

OneSearch is the CSUS Library catalog and contains the material holdings of the CSUS Library including books and videos. Use the multi-box ADVANCED SEARCH to search more precisely by title, author, keyword or subject.

Browse the Shelves

Use the Library of Congress call numbers below to browse the shelves for more books on MEDICINE. Books are located on the 4th Floor.

R         Medicine
RA       Public Medicine/Health
RB       Pathology
RC       Internal Medicine; Psychiatry
RD       Surgery/Rehabilitation
RE      Ophthalmology
RF       Otorhinolaryngology
RG      Obstetrics/Gynecology
RJ       Pediatrics
RL       Dermatology
RM      Therapeutics; Pharmacology
RS       Pharmacy
RT       Nursing

Books

Concise Medical Dictionary
Oxford's Concise Medical Dictionary available online
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by Dorland
Call Number: R121 .D73 2019
ISBN: 9781455756438
Publication Date: 2019-12-09
Trusted by generations of healthcare personnel at every professional level, Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary remains today's most comprehensive and highly respected medical dictionary. The thoroughly updated 33rd Edition is an ideal resource for medical and allied health professionals, students in all healthcare disciplines, medical writers, editors, transcriptionists, coders, researchers, attorneys, and more. Provides approximately 125,000 well-defined entries, 50 plates illustrating anatomy, and more than 1,500 clear, full-color illustrations. Features more than 6,000 new and revised terms and numerous new illustrations.
The Future of Medicine: Frontiers in Integrative Health and Medicine
ISBN: 3036532021
The original research and reviews in this volume investigate efficacy, molecular mechanisms and hypotheses that suggest that traditional systems of medicine and health, e.g., Ayurveda, yoga, traditional Chinese medicine, and mind–body–lifestyle medicine, may offer preventive and cost-effective solutions to contemporary health care challenges. Integrating innovative health approaches with conventional medicine offers a whole system of medicine that encompasses the individual, family, community and environment—from single person to planetary health.
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley II
Call Number: QM25 .A38 2021
ISBN: 9781975138714
Publication Date: 2020-04-16
The updated fifteenth edition is a visually stunning reference that delivers the accuracy, pedagogy, and clinical relevance expected of this classic atlas, with new and enhanced features that make it even more practical and user-friendly.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine by Deirdre S. Hiam
ISBN: 9781410394293
Publication Date: 2019-12-01
Provides alternative medical information about complementary therapies, herbs and remedies, and common medical disease and conditions. Minimizes medical jargon, using language that any reader can understand while still providing thorough coverage of each topic
Handbook of Dermatology by Margaret W. Mann (Editor); Daniel L. Popkin (Editor)
ISBN: 1118408535
Publication Date: 2019-09-06
This indispensable reference guide enables practicing and prospective dermatologists to easily look up information on a wide range of dermatological diseases and quickly access the algorithms, protocols, guidelines, and staging and scoring systems that are vital to both clinical practice and exam success.

More Books and Websites:

Listed here are books and websites on the general topic of MEDICINE. See the tabs above for information on specific medical topic.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
'The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used'
Association of American Medical Colleges
Information on applying to medical schools, research programs, fellowships, taking the MCAT, etc.
CDC A-Z Index
Health topics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Conditions and Treatments A-Z
From UCSF Medical Center
Digital Collections from the National Library of Medicine
MedlinePlus- health information
From the National Library of Medicine; health topics, drugs and supplements information, videos, medical encyclopedia, etc.
Merck Manuals
Merck Manuals -professional version by topic
National Institutes of Health: Health Information
National Library of Medicine
Search for articles in PubMed, toxicology information in TOXNET, medical dictionaries, clinical trials, etc.
US Department of Health and Human Services

Last Updated: Jul 3, 2024 2:36 PM