Skip to Main Content

Library How-To

Librarian

Profile Photo
Christian Ward

Overview

Using this guide

New to college-level research or Sac State? Use the videos, tutorials, and handouts on this page to start and finish your research project. If you need help at any part of the research process, ask a librarian.

Resource Icons

= Video
= Tutorial or online activity
= Handout or guide

Using Search Tools

Choosing a library database
Choosing a Library Database

Locate a list of library databases and filter to find resources for your major or research topic.

View
Linking Sac State Library to Google Scholar
Linking Sac State Library to Google Scholar

Link Google Scholar to Sac State University Library resources to avoid hitting paywalls.

View
OneSearch versus subject databases
OneSearch v. Subject Databases

A flow chart of when to use OneSearch versus a library database.

View

Finding Sources

Getting started with OneSearch
Getting Started with OneSearch

An overview of searching the library catalog to find articles, books, ebooks, and more.

View
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete

How to use keywords and filters to find peer-reviewed, scholarly sources in a library database.

View
Introduction to Keyword Searching in PubMed
Introduction to Searching in PubMed

An introduction to keyword searching in PubMed to locate clinical research. 

View
How to Access Full Text of the New York Times
How to Access Full Text of the New York Times

Review how to search ProQuest New York Times database to access full-text articles.

View
Finding Statistics in Statista
Finding Statistics in Statista

Provides an overview of browsing features and strategies for effective keyword searching in Statista.

View

Reading & Evaluating Sources

Introduction to scholarly articles
Introduction to Scholarly Articles

Breaks down each section of a scholarly research article.

View
Tips for Reading Scholarly Articles
Tips for Reading Scholarly Articles

Learn strategies to effectively read scholarly articles, including how to identify the main points of an article.

View
Last Updated: Sep 9, 2021 1:12 PM