Research Guides: International Business: Country Profiles

Welcome

This guide will help you find international trade and country information. Click the tabs to find additional online and print resources.

If you need additional help with your research, I'm available for consultations just email, call, or chat with me!

Anne Bradley
bradleya@csus.edu
916-278-4350

Country Profiles

Country Reports from Business Source Complete
Includes variety of reports on different aspects of countries including political, economic, investment, and social overviews. Also provides country data such as GDP, employment, production, etc.
Click "Country Reports" in the right column.
Type country name in Browse box to get started.
CSUS Authentication Required

Europa World
Online edition of the Europa World Year Book. Covers political, economic, and historical information, including statistics, for over 250 countries and territories.

Background Notes
U.S. State Department site which contains information on all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations. Included are facts on the country's land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and its relations with other countries and the United States.
Interactive Index of Economic Freedom
A database offering detailed reference information about economic policy for 161 countries. The results are presented in an easy-to-read list with comparable features and scores, as well as a detailed snapshot overview of economic information for each of the countries, for six years.

More Country Resources

IMF Staff Country Reports
International Monetary Fund Reports on the economic and commercial conditions of specific countries in full text. Also check Country Info . The IMF site provides uptodate news sources for country specific information dealing with economics and trade.
globalEDGE
Great directory of international business resources categorized by specific orientation and content. Vast majority of content is free.

How many countries are there in the world?

According to About.com a pretty safe answer seems to be 196 even though there are only 192 members of the United Nations. Some confusion is caused by territories which are erroneously called countries, but are actually governed by other countries (e.g. Puerto Rico, Greenland).

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2024 11:59 AM